Completely simple question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Jasmine, Nov 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jasmine

    Jasmine Guest

    I am not sure if this is the forum to post this on, but here goes:

    I bought my kids an old Aptiva at a garage sale. It's a great little system...plays their games, was very inexpensive, etc. Then I tried to hook it up to my router ( a hard wired D-Link) and I discovered that it only had plug in's for phone lines, not ethernet.

    I took a trip to Best Buy and purchased a network card. I was JUST about to install it when I noticed that the package says, "Windows 2000 and XP drivers".

    Darn! I have NO idea what windows system it has and I forgot how to check. When I look at the currently installed software, I see some of the Windows applications are 97. It also has something about Windows millenium on there, but I think that's an upgrade.

    So my question is, how can I install this darn thing and get it connected to the router? The brand is Dynex. I think I am ok on the physical installation....I am just struggling with which Windows system I have an if/where there is a driver available.

    Thanks so much. You guys are great :)
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,791
    Location:
    Texas
    Jasmine

    If you can identify your model at the link, maybe we can get this figured out.

    IBM
     
  3. Jasmine

    Jasmine Guest

    I don't know if this will help, but I took the info from the computer.
    Machine type-3153
    Model E3N
    Mfg Date AN829
    S/N AF1GN5Z

    Thanks again :)
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,791
    Location:
    Texas
    Jasmine

    Have you tried installing the card yet? As you know how, I would put it in the slot and see how it goes as far as being recognized by the system.
     
  5. jasmine

    jasmine Guest

    I have not tried it yet because I was afraid I had the wrong one. Do you think I can find a driver online for this card?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,791
    Location:
    Texas
    Jasmine

    There should be a driver out there. Windows may be able to use a generic driver of its own.

    Windriver forums
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,050
    Hi Jasmine

    First go to start>control panel>system There you should be able to determine what operating system. There is a wealth of info on Aptiva's. You can just google on aptiva. You might start with this site.

    http://members.aol.com/don5408/aptiva.html

    Pete
     
  8. jasmine

    jasmine Guest

    Yes! Success! Thanks guys :)*
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,791
    Location:
    Texas
    Jasmine

    Good news! Did you find or did you need another driver?
     
  10. jasmine

    jasmine Guest

    It was on the disk. I wish I had installed the correct version first. It would have been very smooth that way :)
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,791
    Location:
    Texas
    jasmine

    Thanks for letting us know.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.