COMODO Time Machine BETA Released!

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Dragons Forever, Sep 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    565
    I've used CTM since first beta and haven't had any problems except CPU usage problems (seems to be bug)
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ok, btw im on Win7 32bit, so if anyone has experience with CTM on that, it wuld be good to know.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I've not tested CTM, but with Rollback, which I played with on a raid 0 system, and it sort of worked, the restore was about the time of a reboot. That's what is should be as you aren't really restoring, but just pointing to different sectors.

    PS, as an aside, you shouldn't see much slow down with SD. I ran shadowed for 3 hours yesterday, with live market action, a webinar, and music playing, and I was recording the whole thing with Camtasia. The recorded file ended up being 1.6gb. No Slowdown.
     
  4. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    I use it on Win7 x64, and it works excellently.
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thx for feedback, and anybody know an approximate timeframe wen they plan to release it out of beta (if they have even said anything)
     
  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Wel on the play pc, I now use this config

    Made C the programs and OS partitiion, moved all temp files and desktop to another location D:\data, so C was as static as posisble

    Active

    -CTM (only tracks whether tracks are changed)
    -LUA, with registry hack to run MSI files with runas
    -SRP default deny user space (this is XP Pro SP3)
    -Immunet (check only at install), checks through cloud so no local DB update
    -using Chromeplus Sanbbox and privacy options

    On demand
    Autoruns (with save as and compare to check new arrivals if any)
    Hitman Pro (also through cloud check)

    This is rerally low CPU cycles or I/O spend on security :D
     
  7. apathy

    apathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    9th Circle of Hell(Florida)
    CTM running good for me. I haven't met with the nasty repeating chkdsk problem yet. Is there any way to exclude files/folders?
     
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    As far as I know not.

    - option to exclude disk-partition
    - option to synchronise folders

    The best to keep your C -partition stable is to create a data partition

    You can download Partition Wizzard, but uninstall CTM first (re-install afterwards)

    With your data and your temp files (both windows/webbrowsers and other) on another partition your C-partition will be more static, so less work for CTM and smaller snapshots.

    Regards Kees
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  9. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Setup an old ide drive with XP as a testbed for sandbox/vm aware rogue apps with CTM installed but can't seem to find an exclusion for the second partition which was there for my Win 7 64 bit install?
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    The second beta has it, it asks during install, after install this is shown

    Note: I got Paragon working with CTM. You have to use Raw Partition backup with no compress. Then Paragon copies the partition sector by sector even unused space
     

    Attached Files:

  11. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    A few people have stated they think that CTM is a "clone" of EZFix or Rollback Rx... or even that Comodo "bought" the code.

    But it would not make any sense to "buy" the code and then give it away for free.

    I wonder if the patent on the code expired and it became public domain and Comodo grabbed it and started massaging it.

    Or... maybe the idea is to give it away so people get used to having it and rely on it, and THEN... start charging for it.

    In any event.... as long as it's a give-away... I'll cetainly be happy to try it once it gets out of BETA.

    So I wish to say "THANK YOU" to Comodo.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2009
  12. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    o very nice tip, thx a lot, this will be very useful, so use raw partition backup and dont compress the backup, but why does compression matter?
     
  13. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    So relative to your "Note", how would you boot into the Paragon recovery system since your boot sequence is set to start with the snapshot software. This is assuming that isn't functional or you'd just be recovering to a snapshot. Hope this question makes sense!
     
  14. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    @firzen

    Because CTM stoes its snapshots on free disk space.

    @ratchet

    WHen you would need to recover your OS image, you need a paragon recovery CD.


    @All

    I got it working once (from baseline), when retried with a snapshot, CTM died in the indexing files stage. Surprisingly Paragon recognised that MBR was messed up and did a rebuild of the MBR and removed the CTM pre-boot OS loader. CTM did succesfully de-install afterwards. Checkdsk told me the file system was okay.

    So next time I will first perform all possible emergency procedure scenarios before I tell I have got something working :blink:
     
  15. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    That is quite alright! You.\'ve uncovered the fact that paragon CD will let you boot if the snapshot softwares can't recover from the problem!
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  16. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    I currently use Rollback Rx. I just updated to the new build and was surprised that I had to un-install it, as a ressult I had to delete all my snapshots.
    Will Comodo Time Machine behave similar when installing a new build or will I be able to keep my snapshots?
     
  17. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    Yes...
     
  18. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    Thanks ambient_88...
     
  19. loli22

    loli22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    92
    i tried the latest beta, but it detected thet i have a linux partition and ctm "cant work with linux partitions"

    what's this?
     
  20. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    584
    Location:
    Moon
    COMODO Time Machine 2.2.121064.147 RC Released!

    What's New in 2.2.121064.147?
    NEW! Updater function is available. You can keep all snapshots during update. Note: This function just works for RC and later version. BETA users can't use this feature.
    NEW! Help file is available. Note: Currently, Help file is not the final version. Please report bugs you met to bug report thread.
    NEW! Command line tool is available. You can get more detail informations about command line tool from help file.
    FIXED! More than 100 fixes of GUI. GUI will be more stable..
    FIXED! Can't work with removable devices.
    FIXED! Can't work with plugged-in card reader.
    FIXED! Bug of dynamic disk support on Windows 7. Now CTM could be installed to dynamic disk on Windows 7.
    FIXED! BSOD during snapshot defragmentation

    DOWNLOAD
     
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    99,823
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Dragons Forever, as per your request, this thread is closed!

    JR
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.