COMODO Time Machine BETA Released!

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Dragons Forever, Sep 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. COMODO Time Machine Beta.
    The CTM technology will also be in CIS version 4, at year end.
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    will this product be free after beta?
     
  3. Yes. Off course!

    Here are screen shots: - Very similar to CIS ver 4 GUI too.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    Yes it will. It will be provided as a stand alone product and as part of CIS 4.
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    sounds awesome, looks like ill have a replacement for rollback rx then for free :D is the beta compatible with Win7?
     
  6. doskey

    doskey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Hi. COMODO Time Machine supports Win7 x32 and x64.
    Have fun. :)

    Doskey
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    sounds great, anyone using it yet, test the beta for how stable it is and how thorough the snapshots are for restoring? as well as the speed for making a snapshot and restoring to one, and 1 more question, does it have a defrag ability built in since most Defraggers dont work with these kinds of software?
     
  8. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Already installed up and running works great.
    Using Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit.
     
  9. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    335
    Couldn't get it to install on Win 7 32 bit. It said it needed admin elevation, but no way to do it. Tried installing with compatibility mode but to no avail.

    :(
     
  10. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    :thumb: Looks great............:D
     
  11. loli22

    loli22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    92
    same thing :thumbd:
     
  12. Doskey is one of the developers from the CTM team.

    Yes, There are issues with the installer not starting. I had same problem, I solved this by following only step 1 of this:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315346 - Method 1: Reregister the Windows Installer (only part 1).

    Hope this helps some one. FYI, I am also 3xist from the COMODO Forums and moderate the forums.
     
  13. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Indeed great, but keep your Rollback RX lisence for at least a year, considering Comodo's buggy release reputation. Comodo provides great freeware but never switch to x.0 version, wait to x.1 has been released.
     
  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I just wonder why taking a name from Apple! There are lot of other names that can be used.
     
  15. FYI: This Supports XP/Vista/7 32bit and 64bit.

    Running great here on my vista. :) Bye Bye VM's! This is the real deal. :)

    3xist.
     
  16. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857

    Note:
    It is a Beta, have a look at the bug reports/problems posted, so test with precaution (having a disk image or run in VM) :D
     
  17. Yes off course use with caution pls... :) ssj100: True mate, VM's are good for other purposes too!

    3xist.
     
  18. loli22

    loli22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    92
    doest it support multi boot like rollback rx does?
     
  19. SammyJack

    SammyJack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    Well no great shock,it will not instal in Sandboxie with Returnil,which is the only way I would dream of trialing a comodo BETA,

    PS :josh the real deal is Coke.
    the Kool-Aid slogan is,: "Moms depend on Kool-Aid like kids depend on Moms." ...
     
  20. SammyJack

    SammyJack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    SSJ100 said: Why not just run it in a sandboxed VM?

    As my Great Aunt Pansy was fond of saying:
    VM? Wahl I aint got no VM!!

    Seriously "all" of those Returnil by-passing worms are a boon to me.
    I have not spent a dime at the bait shop in eight months.

    Plus I thought Sandboxie was pretty much all you need.
     
  21. SammyJack

    SammyJack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    Thanks SSJ. I know. I have tried Avira as a on-demand in Sandboxie with no joy.
    Thanks for the VirtualBox heads up. I had no idea it was free.
     
  22. Pliskin

    Pliskin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Posts:
    341
    It doesn't support dual boot, right?
     
  23. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Indeed Virtualbox can be started inside SandboxIE. You guys have crazy ideas :D

    Is this Time Machine something like Shadow Defender or like FirstDefense ISR?
     
  24. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    well done comdo team !! since i am rollback RX / eaz fix frick for long time , i will test this new CTM ! and see what its made off!!

    BRAVO COMODO WE ALL ADORE YOUR FREE APPROACH :D

    chhers:)
     
  25. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,561
    Is this similar to Windows own System Restore function?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.