comodo memory firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by computer geek, Feb 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    comodo memory firewall do you need if you have comodo firewall pro installed?
     
  2. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Yes, cmf can stop buffer overflow.
     
  3. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    it does not have to be configured does it?
     
  4. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Nope, always on.
     
  5. ParaNodes

    ParaNodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Posts:
    69
    computer geek,

    No config , and it also has an excluder should you have conflicts ( ala, CBOC).
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Not that it can stop them, it was designed specifically to stop them.
    It's by no mean any similar to the regular network firewalls.
     
  7. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    A bit of a misnomer, in my view, "Comodo Memory Firewall".
    It's purely an application to prevent, or rather stop dead an application with a buffer overflow. Not to be confused with what most folk know as a Firewall.
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well it is a firewall, but not for the network traffic. It keeps memory "space" clean with no memory overflowing where it shouldn't. A "memory firewall".
    The name is correct, ppl just understand it wrong because they're used to connect word "firewall" with internet right away...
     
  9. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Sure, I understand the difference. The OP is one of several I've seen that indicates many don't.
    So while the name is technically correct, and OK, there is the potential for those-who-are-easily-led to be mislead.
    I guess the name is a done deal, now, but suitable alternatives could be something like Comodo Memory Guard, or Comodo Overrun Protector. (with the added benefit of a memorable acronym.) (No pun intended.)
     
  10. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Does this product actually work? Does what they are describing on their website sound reasonable?
     
  11. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    That is my question. Has it been tested by anyone?
     
  12. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Download their tester.
     
  13. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Please don't take this wrong,but I doubt that they would have a test that their program wouldn't catch. Is there any other test that can be run?
     
  14. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    LOL!

    Well is there anyone on these forums with programming knowledge to under the technical aspect of a buffer overflow? Does what Comodo have on their website seem reasonable?
     
  15. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I wish that I had the knowledge to test it. I have a computer that is a spare with XP Pro. on it that I have set up kind of as a test bed.
     
  16. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  17. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    I installed CMF from the first day version 2 apeared.I used it with COMODO 3+BD2008,Jetico2+BitDefender,PCTools+KAV,COMODO3+KAV,Jetico2+TrendMicro,COMOD3+AVAST and works excellent ,a nice thing is that this tiny software seems to enhance my online gaming experience it seems less laggyer(quite strange).I advise you when defragmenting to close the CMF.
    Untill now i catched 2 atempts of Buffer Overflow with some strange aplications.I have to mention that i closed DEP because on my old 32 bit systems impacts with my computer performance thing that with CMF doesnt hapening.
    Excellent piece of software.
     
  18. morgrum

    morgrum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    For some reason, even with CMF installed, Comodo's BO Tester shows that I am vulnerable to Heap Overflows (but not Stack or R2LibC).

    I'm also using CFP (Comodo Firewall), which seems to be the culprit. In one configuration, CFP stopped CMF from blocking any kind of BO (even though it was running and wasn't impeded by choosing the wrong option on any CFP alerts), but now it seems to be interfering with only CMFs ability to stop Heap Overflows.

    The funny thing is though, I can completely disable CMF and I am still vulnerable to the Heap problem. I think there's a real issue with cross-compatibility between Comodo's various programs.

    BOClean started repeatedly crashing/restarting at bootup after installing CFP, even after I gave it full permissions in CFP, so I had to uninstall it. I hope Comodo gets all these programs running smoothly together and then integrates them into CFP. It will be the ultimate free HIPS solution if they finally get it all together, especially once they can do the same with CAVS (their antivirus).

    It would be nice to have a solid/stable piece of software which can do all that, and could reduce resource consumption significantly (compared to that required by a multitude of apps necessary to fill all those roles).
     
  19. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Hey guys, I know I've asked about it's effectiveness before but its been a little while now. Has anyone had any experiences with this product they would like to share? Does it actually work?

    Cheers
    Jeremy
     
  20. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Sure it works. It takes memory and CPU according to my ProcessExplorer :)
     
  21. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Beyond taking up RAM and using CPU cycles?
     
  22. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    I dunno, really. Those are the only traces of its work :)

    Speaking seriously, I installed it just for fun. I don't really think it improves my security and I never got any popups from it. From the other side, I do not see that it had visible impact to my system. Though, I didn't also notice any improvements as some other people did :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.