COMODO Internet Security/Antivirus/Firewall 8.0.0.4337 is released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by IvoShoen, Nov 17, 2014.

  1. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
  2. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,093
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well feature wise it is impressive. The installation size is impressive to (which makes it a complex job to test with so many lines of code). Everybody seems to head at using the VM capabilities of the CPU. Curious to see the impact on test results of AV;s with this new feature.
     
  3. zakazak

    zakazak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    523
    I am more curious about the performance with those VM features :)

    I hope CIS becomes less bulky and more lightweight. I understand that more and more features are added to CIS (I am not commenting of how much needed some of them are) but it also starts to slow down the system more and more. Not like it's more than others do.. just more than it used to slow down.
     
  4. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128
    The Comodo forums is starting to fill up with bug complains, same old same old.
    There are problems unsolved since years and they just keep adding untested features.

    What a stupid guy that CEO is.
    Comodo could be up there with the best if only it was managed professionally.
     
  5. zakazak

    zakazak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    523
    I just checked the forum, I don't see many bug reports? Actually only 1-2 threads.
     
  6. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,128

    This is from one thread only.
     
  7. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    On a such widely available software tool there will be always bugs that are not fixed.
    It is simply linked to the impact surface. More users reporting the same issue more likely they are going to addressed it before than later. The order of magnitude is not dictated by tens of users but thousands.

    So, you should not be surprised if a bug is not fixed even across years and versions. It simply that it is not crucial enough to be fixed... ;)
     
  8. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Paris
    Joxx- The first quote your above message was from my Comodo Forums post. In actuality I was totally wrong. The issue was that a test malware file was able to manipulate other files in a specific directory (specifically deleting items in the downloads directory). However when I recoded the malware to target the Documents directory Comodo protected the system perfectly. My error was that I overlooked that the Downloads directory was part of Shared Space, where any file can do what it likes while still being isolated from the host system (one can always remove it from Shared Space if there is a need).

    This new version has the advantage that the default sandbox setting is now Full V, by far the strongest. On testing (other than my incorrect assumption mentioned above) this version has provided perfect protection on all malware that I tried (and God knows I tried).
     
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    What's new in 8.0.0.4337?

    New

    Policy based automatic-sandboxing

    • Ability to create automatic sandboxing rule based on various parameters such as file reputation, file origin, file source etc.
    • New default auto-sandboxing policy which is fine-tuned to isolate risky unknown applications

    Hardware virtualization support

    • When Intel VT-x or AMD SVM Virtualization extensions are available, Enhanced Protection Mode makes use of these technologies and CIS operates at hypervisor level

    Extended Logging

    • CIS can now send security and configuration events to Windows Event Logs

    New UI theme

    • "Flat Tile" theme with updated icons and colors for better look and feel

    Viruscope Recognizer grid in ASE

    • List of registered recognizers
    • Possibility to manage each recognizer state, turn it ON and OFF

    Improved

    Viruscope

    • Viruscope is now enabled by default, monitors more activities and works on sandboxed applications as well as not sandboxed ones.
    • Viruscope performance is improved

    User Interface

    • The advanced settings window has been redesigned to provide a better layout

    Fixed
    We have addressed many issues reported by our users in this release. Here are a selected few


    • Enabling Viruscope causes file sharing violations
    • Killing certain malware can cause BSOD
    • Certain keyloggers can sniff keyboard while sandboxed as partially limited
    • Office 2013 documents downloaded from the Internet sometimes cannot be opened inside sandbox
    • Microsoft Outlook cannot receive email inside sandbox
    • Multiple issues exploited by malware to bypass certain protections
    • Firewall blocks fragmented UDP traffic even if this option is disabled
    • Incompatibility between Cisco Anyconnect Mobile VPN and COMODO Firewall

    Someone post some screenies please :thumb:
     
  10. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    I just installed the version 8 standalone firewall (after uninstalling the v7 firewall). Note that the installer includes Geekbuddy and the Dragon browser. If you don't want these choose the custom install where you have the option to deselect them. The UI and features are mostly the same as v7. There's an option in HIPS settings to enable "enhanced protection mode" which uses hardware virtualization if available (I think that's new) and requires a restart. There are a number of advanced firewall features OFF by default which can be enabled to harden the firewall, eg Filter IPv6 traffic, block fragmented IP traffic, Do protocol analysis and enable anti-ARP spoofing. I had all of these enabled in v7 without issues. Last there are a few UI themes to choose from and a nice desktop widget :thumb:
     
  11. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
    For me CIS uses less RAM and is lighter on my system than Avast Free is.
     
  12. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    Enhanced protection mode isn't new afaik and it's not relevant to the new hardware virtualization capability. I maybe wrong though, haven't used CIS for quite some time.
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Because they probably banned the rest...
     
  14. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    USA
    I am life banned from that site. I made them mad because I spoke the truth about how they were misleading users with lies about the safety of their software. They are an unethical company.
    I wear my ban with honor.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2014
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    You're correct that the enhanced protection mode option isn't new, however see this from the changelog:

    "Hardware virtualization support
    • When Intel VT-x or AMD SVM Virtualization extensions are available, Enhanced Protection Mode makes use of these technologies and CIS operates at hypervisor level"
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    Viruscope by default only monitors sandboxed applications. Does anyone set Viruscope to monitor the whole system?
     
  17. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Is the auto-sandbox default "Run Virtual" i.e Full Sandbox now?

    And default "Run Virtual" for installers too now?
     
  18. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    How about CPU usage?I've always had issues with Comodo regarding this.
     
  19. Cyrano2

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Spain
    In my system it's light as a feather, no problems whatsoever.
     
  20. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Do you use the whole suite? Your sig says that you only use the Firewall.
     
  21. Cyrano2

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Spain
    Yep, only the firewall. Sorry for the confussion.
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Some off topic posts removed.
     
  23. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    You and RejZor may have a lot in common.:argh: Actually he hasn't been hard on them...I think he caught them once in a weak moment.
     
  24. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    528
    I'm using the whole suite and the CPU usage is really low. Not like some of the older versions. Much less RAM used as well.
     
  25. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Thank you guys.I'll install the firewall only and see if the CPU issue is still present.(even on idle,cis.exe is using about 25% CPU...it's very annoying)
     
Loading...