COMODO Internet Security 5.x Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Mops21, Jul 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyrano2

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Spain
    Installed and running without a hitch :D.
     
  2. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    When I say "Check for Updates" I get an error. Still on 2064.
     
  3. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,321
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    So the voice recognition in this beta is still crap?
    They really should focus on other stuff. j/k...;)
     
  4. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    I'm impressed by the speed of the new beta really, and I see that the automation of the different modules has been vastly improved in the default settings - big plus! :thumb:

    To Hungry: You running with AV enabled or disabled in this beta?
     
  5. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I agree, CIS is looking really nice. I'm looking forward to seeing how it develops over these next few betas (assuming there'll be more of course). For a free product it really is a great piece of kit.
     
  6. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    My fave Black skin also returns on latest beta, big up Comodo :)
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    No AV. Only the cloud AV packaged into Defense+.
     
  8. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,252
    Location:
    North Texas
    Same here...very smooth and light!
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766
    Please do me a favor and check peak working set, and virtual memory usage. I am getting about 900meg, and over 1GB for vm, which seems really high. At least the highest I have seen for an internet suite.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    PWS = 104mb cmdagent, 33,5mb cfp
    Virtual size: 288mb cmd, 244mb cfp
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    I don't have installed the AV but my Vitual memory for cpf is 190 and for cmdagent 203
    The working set is 3 and 7
    Private 20 and 39
    Have you try updating to the latest av database? they have just transformed it, maybe you are in the middle of this transformation.
     
  12. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,489
    Location:
    Paris
    Yikes! A new update-

    What's new in 5.8.202876.2065?

    FIXED! CIS doesn't close handles as expected which could cause stability and performance issues.

    This will install without the program closing or any reboots.
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I don't think I can update via the program. Gonna try to download from the site.
     
  14. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,489
    Location:
    Paris
    Just ran across some malware earlier today that at the time was detected by nothing. One of the changes that it made was specifically targeting Firefox (I tested it on versions 5 and 6- neither was set as default browser). It would change the Home page, and the change could only be reversed by uninstalling Firefox and deleting customizations.

    D+ would prevent this change only at the Untrusted or Blocked levels.
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    All this kind of problems with the sandbox will be gone in the v6, when the sandbox will be based on virtualization.
     
  16. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,489
    Location:
    Paris
    It would be nice if Scotty would also detect changes to the Firefox home page as it does for IE.
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

  18. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Thats why I have mine set for untrusted. That and I have firefox running in a sandboxie.
     
  19. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,489
    Location:
    Paris
    The addon BrowserProtect did indeed detect the home page change but could not block it.
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    same for me.
     
  21. guest

    guest Guest

    I think that sandboxie can't do anything against a malware that can change settings if the program (firefox) is not active.
    I have my CIS sandbox in restricted, I can`t wait to the new CIS sandbox xD
     
  22. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I have sandboxie set up as dropmyrights and restricted internet/programs. Send me a sample and lets see if it stops anything from running.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    If firefox is closed as I said before and the malware is executed how is sandboxie going to protect the settings? or I'm missing something?
     
  24. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,489
    Location:
    Paris
    I don't think you are missing anything. The only way to prevent the change would be the obvious one, and that is to Sandbox the malware exe at a high level.
     
  25. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Even if Firefox was running in the sandbox, Sandboxie wouldn't prevent it. It would only stop the malware if the malware was sandboxed.... I think.

    Anyways I have autosandboxing off. If I think something might be malicious I manually sandbox it as Limited since that includes virtualization and some restrictions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.