COMODO Internet Security 5.x Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Mops21, Jul 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Like me, although I do use their cloud services. D+ Execution Control also includes the cloud scanner.
     
  2. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    :thumb:
     
  3. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,480
    Location:
    Paris
    Beta Updated:

    From their Website:

    What's new in 5.8.202801.2064?

    NEW! Antivirus base size has been reduced drastically: This affects CIS performance and resource consumption as well
    NEW! HIPS now has further improvements on 64 bit operating systems
    NEW! Simple installer with 1-click installation experience
    IMPROVED! Look and feel of the icons so that it is easier on the eyes
    IMPROVED! CAV "Clean" button no longer deletes files but quarantines instead
    FIXED! Firewall does not filter bluetooth adapters: pls reinstall CIS to see the effects
    FIXED! Summary shows wrong menus when clicked on state links.

    Xttp://download.comodo.com/cis/download/installs/5.8_dgfjh/cispremium_installer.exe

    It will automatically update if you have the previous Beta installed.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2011
  4. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Thank you.
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Awesome. Can't wait to try it out.
     
  6. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Just uninstalled the old version and installed the new one.

    New installer, careful to make sure you do a "custom installation" and check everything you want.

    Imported my Proactive Security from the last version -- working well.
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

  8. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I don't use the AV either. I'm using 7.7MB of RAM though right now with D+ and the Firewall.

    I'm curious to see how that feature works but I have it disabled since it looks like it would possibly hurt security.
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah I'm running 11k roughly. THat is with the AV installed. That's with 2 processes. CFP.exe and cmdagent.exe. Its actually running lighter than the first beta release. The first was running around 18K for me.
     
  10. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Hm. Use process explorer to check out the CPU/ Disk I/O it's using.
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    6.2 mil and 1.2 mil for the I/O.
     
  12. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Naturally the I/O is much higher with the AV. Process explorer shows it to be very low.
     
  13. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766
    You should specify if that is reads or bytes.
     
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    SOrry clocks that was read bytes.
     
  15. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766
    Thanks. This is certainly the most polished version of CIS ever.
     
  16. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Nice and light. I have to say that I'm liking it a lot. Can't wait for ver 6 to come out.
     
  17. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Yes, it definitely feels like they're making serious improvements. I think V6 is going to be really wonderful if this beta is any indication.
     
  18. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Every 4-5 seconds Comodo was writing to the disk... disabled logging and that solved it. It was a tiny write, but still, I have no need for it and I want to keep I/O to a minimum.
     
  19. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766

    Thanks. I think I will do the same.
     
  20. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    It serves no real purpose for me. I've never even looked at the logs.

    And I was wondering what was causing those spikes that Process Explorer was showing.
     
  21. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,766

    Probably more for the Geekbuddys than us.
     
  22. scott1256ca

    scott1256ca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Posts:
    144
    I'm sure there is more to this persons selection criteria than just randomly selecting 150 "system files", but without some other metrics, like comparing to some other engines FP's on this set, this score doesn't fill me with much confidence.

    On my c:\ drive I have nearly 40 000 files in
    Program Files
    Windows
    a few others that have some executables/dlls and not much else. At that rate, Valkyrie would detect more than 500 FP's.
    To reiterate, I'm sure the selection criteria was more than just randomly selecting some system files, and I doubt that of my 40k files, 500 would be detected as malware, but unless I see some better testing and explanation, or some comparisons to other anti-malware, this certainly does not fill me with any confidence.

    I have spent more time recovering from software that quarantined files I wanted than I have spent recovering from problems caused by malware. Personally, when I look at detection rates of anti-malware software, if I don't see some mention of FP's then I don't pay nearly as much attention. FP's has historically been a weakness of CAV. I haven't checked into it much lately, since they either seem to be excluded from the more comprehensive tests, or the tests are of suites and not AV. I have no problem with the other aspects of CIS, and in fact that is what I use, except for CAV.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  23. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    So far the latest beta build is pretty stable. The executable of Smart Defrag stopped running now, so had to uninstall that (chose to keep CIS). We'll see how it does performance-wise. Thanks to Hungry for the logging-trick.
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    As I said before they still need to "fusion" the whole system, and those results are just about Valkirie heuristics, when everything will be working together a detection by Valkirie heuristics will not mean a result of malware by the cloud.

    This are the newest news about it
    BETA UPDATE
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2011
  25. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,480
    Location:
    Paris
    With version 2065 my RAM usage seems to vary between 6000K- 12,000K for both cfp.exe and cmdagent.exe. Rather laughable as Zemana takes up 15,840K by itself.

    Also I am kind of frustrated as I was on day 6 of a 7 day test which I was planning to present when the new version came out. Looks like it's back to the drawing board.

    (As a FYI- I used the automatic update function to go from the beta to ver 2063 as well as going from 2063 to the current version. All my setting were carried over without error.)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.