Comodo Firewall Updates

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Feandur, Mar 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    In order to enable VirusCope, you have to switch configuration to Proactive Security.
     
  2. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    429
    Location:
    Australia
  3. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    397
    Location:
    Scotland
    Watch out when you get the notification from comodo to install the update, it will install their ad program privdog by default even if you have refused that being installed before, had to click the customise install link at bottom to stop that being installed, rather a sneaky way of them stealth installing it considering their motto is "creating trust online"
     
  4. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Privdog is an ad?
     
  5. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    397
    Location:
    Scotland
    AFAIK it's a so called ad blocker that wants to run "trusted ads" but I think you can uncheck that.
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,115
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, this appears to be the new normal - whenever there is a version update it's necessary to opt-out of previously declined offers. I've seen this with other free security software as well.
     
  7. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    397
    Location:
    Scotland
    It is very annoying, I only noticed it as I was reading the Eula & saw privdog mentioned, went into customise install & it was ticked to install by default & also ticked to allow certain ads as well, just comes across as very sneaky as I'm sure that Comodo gets cash for allowed ads.
     
  8. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Still using v5.10... and very happy with it with no intent on changing any time soon. The new versions aren't laid out as well, are more confusing/less practical, add more features (*ahem*... bloat) I don't need. And offer nothing more in terms of actual protection (in my case) that I don't already have in 5.10. More than likely it's mostly compatibility updates for newer OS's and said "features" I have no use for.
     
  9. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,154
    Comodo has turned into bloatware, I'm still using version 3.13 which still works fine, very light on system the installer is only 38 mb
     
  10. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    DownUnder
    Now that I like!! :D
     
  11. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,154
  12. bcsman

    bcsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    102
  13. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,154
  14. bcsman

    bcsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    102
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.