comodo firewall pro vs online armor free

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ahmed12, Aug 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Unnecessary alerts should just never appear if we talk of security and not about debugging. Security should only show NECESSARY alerts and the less the better. The problem with Comodo is with reduced alerts it doesn't pass basic tests and which is worse your system gets infected very fast by the real threats. They still cannot find a good balance between security and usability.
     
  2. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,340
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    When I mentioned unnecessary alerts, it was meant in the context of a secure download:If I downloaded Avira from their site (presumably a trusted site), and left Comodo with its normal settings -safe Mode (firewall) - Clean PC Mode (HIPS), I would eventually have to endure a fastidious sequence of alerts about all the various stages of the installation. By setting Comodo in 'training mode' during the installation, one doesn't get any alert at all.

    I've had it for just over a month, and I very rarely see any alert, not to mention that if you want to use only the firewall module, you only need to click once and reboot to disable the HIPS module.
     
  3. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    I see. But Comodo w/o HIPS is not any better than a lot of other free HIPSless firewalls. And for those who care about leaktests Comodo w/o HIPS can score close to zero result.
     
  4. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Exactly, on my computer comodo failed but in not necessarily be the rule.
    In my case better solution is Online Armor.
     
  5. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    490
    Alex_s
    Comodo will alert you for EVERY action performed on your computer, And being infected by real threats? I'd be very interested if you would back up this claim by visiting the forums and explaining how you bypassed comodo.


    Creer;
    Please go to https://forums.comodo.com/ and explain what your problem is so that someone can help you. Often it's just a minor mistake on your half that we can help out with.- But if it isn't comodo would be very interested in your find!


    Alex_S
    That's why those firewalls are failing because the firewalls aren't doing their job. Defense+ Is a component in the firewall that makes it more effective and works extremely well.

    It's like your body, you have eyes, ears, mouth, nose, etc. all those components make YOU.

    Fajo
    Comodo does not need baby sitting "90% of it's life" If you were to read the support forums or help manual, you can add your programs very fast, normally half an hour.


    Comodo isn't solid steal, It's Pretty Darn Close

    Currently going by tests Comodo Offers the better firewall and leak test protection, Also if you get really comfortable with comodo you can ditch your av all together, that's what quite a few people have done.

    Which is better? Try both and give them a decent trial period. What ever fits into your lifestyle most is the best!
     
  6. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,375
    Location:
    UK
    I have had to remove some off topic posts so do remember to keep on topic and show respect for other members

    thank you

    Nick
     
  7. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Why didn't you read carefuly ? I said in paranoid mode it is unusable because of a lot of alerts one gets tired from very soon, but in the modes with reduced alerts it turns to be unsafe. No good balance where alerts are few and security is high. I think they took wrong way. There is no need to regulate alerts number, there is a need to reduce alerts and still be safe in ANY mode.
     
  8. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    490
    You can always use Safe mode, The alerts will be reduced to half and won't impact your security at all.

    It's not like the pop-ups repeat them selves, If they are a safe every day application you use just click "Remember Action" You will never receive a pop-up again for that action.


    I'm sorry Alex but it's the truth, You can be aware of whats going on around you, Or you can just ignore the fact and hope you don't get "attacked"

    I really don't think it's fair that you are criticizing what you don't know about - You can't judge a book by it's cover.
     
  9. alex_s

    alex_s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Posts:
    1,251
    Why do you think I don't know about Comodo ? I installed it on one of my home PC and I can compare in realtime how Comodo and OA go.
     
  10. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Have used both products. They work.

    Best to do your own learning then your own comparisons trial tests on your own setup.

    There are a number of learning threads and stickies on FW's: here is 1

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=189414

    There are others on CFW, ZA etc.

    But I don't participate anymore in X vs Y threads.

    Good luck.
     
  11. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Wallachia
    One thing i know is that i cant recommend Comodo 3 anymore.One friend of mine used it at my recommandation.He had it installed clean and updated and he got hacked.His ISP LogIn data were stolen and someone else was using his network conection with his id data.He was not an security experienced user but before instaling Comodo 3 he used Sunbelt Firewall 4.5 and he never got such a problem.His computer was clean from viruses scaned right before the incident with CureIT,BD 10 free and his resident antivirus Avast 4.8 along with Spybot Search & Distroy,Malwarebytes Antimalware and SAS.I supose he was the victim of a DNS spoof but its just a suposition of mine.I would suggest you Jetico that has a better network filtering even by default.
     
  12. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814

    Lol wrong. try using a P2P program see how comodo falls to its knees. or enjoy a pop up every time it makes a different IP connection. or add it to excluded list and have no use of a firewall at all.

    but meh whatever.

    OA at least is smart enough to know what is going on. instead of popping up a alert before I can even move my mouse from the last alert. firewall's need somewhat of a brain. anyone could code a program to pop up a alert every time something running. hell you could do that in C++ whats nice about SOME firewalls is they learn.
     
  13. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,066
    Location:
    Serbia
    Hello.

    Do not expect to simply pile up software and be protected. You need to USE security you have installed.
    Encountering a blizzard of popups for inter-process operations (HIPS activities), most will steadily click "allow" without fully understanding what they do. So...
    To me, security is almost exclusively knowledge, utilized through the software you install and your ability to use it. It is certainly not the first time I hear this "ummm... but I had this security installed and still got hacked" story. Naturally the software's to blame. Not IMO.

    While I agree Jetico have better inbound filtering than Comodo, I couldn't help but wonder what does its network filtering has to do with your friend's stolen ID data? Do you wish to say that Jetico would've prevented this?

    I am sorry for my off-topic comments. Not much of a topic anyway...
     
  14. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Wallachia
    Seer ,you seem to be an advanced user of Comodo 3, can you explain me how can someone protect his PPPOE LogIn data with Comodo 3.
    What setings has to do?
    My friend said he only inserted once his id login data and this was done long time ago when he installed Windows XP.
    With my limited knowledge i just cant understand how he could be hacked if his computer was clean after virus scaning.He used the best and mega awarded firewall.
    Sorry for the offtopic ,but i was really shocked hearing this from my friend.
     
  15. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    504
    Not a thread worth spending time IMO,becouse it starts from the OP wrong assumption that matousec.com wrongly called 'firewall challange'it's only about what a firewall should do.Maybe the firewall's Sticky from here are more useful to him.
    I certainly learn a few things from reading them,and even if i don't understand many things, Wilders is one of the best places to learn.
     
  16. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    490
    As I have said before, You can pretend to be blind and it will be your downfall.

    I would rather be alerted for everything than be alerted by some things and miss the rest. Comodo does learn, You click "remember action" But if that's to hard for you maybe OA is the way to go.

    Whether or not the application is considered safe or trusted it will always be filtered with SPI and all that jazz.

    EDIT: What is wrong with comodo and P2P apps? I Use Utorrent very regularly, Set the Fire wall as "outbound only" and Defense+ to trusted application.

    Falls to it's knee's? I've experienced adaware from a p2p download, It wasn't that hard - I got a pop up from Defense+ telling me that "X" was attempting to modify a registry key, the start up. I Clicked "Deny" and submitted the file to virus total and found out it was malware.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  17. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    490

    That really depends on the settings he was using, It's best to go to the forums of the program and ask for help or advice.
     
  18. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Yes you can continue to be blind if you like. but the simple fact is A firewall should be a set and forget. I should not have to change modes constantly in a firewall just to use a program. after the rules in a program are set I should never have to touch them again. this is where Comodo fails yes it can remember a rule. so can any other app. the point is if one little change to a installer or one connection is made that is not in a rule you get a pop up. period it has no ability to learn Connection or states of the OS as so many other Firewalls can but I'm laymans terms its a "dumb" firewall it needs constant user action to do anything. again can be coded in C++.
     
  19. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Perhaps he left his router with the default settings ("admin' is password for linksys). His log in name and password for his ISP would be clearly visible. Has nothing to do with Comodo
     
  20. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Not sure what you're talking about, that's the way CFP works for me after the initial configuration for each program. . I seldom get pop ups any more unless I introduce a new programm.
     
  21. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Wallachia
    Unfortunatelly he doesnt have a router he uses just this Comodo 3 software firewall and it seems his computer is open to the web like a book.The hacker entered took and left.
    He used the default Comodo 3 rules.
    I personally left this firewall alone because at every update my setings were messed up ,but my friend got used to it so he kept it.Big mistake it seems.
    Is Comodo 3 doing SPI or not?
     
  22. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    490
    What are you on about constant pop-ups? I have only ever had 2 pop up windows EVER from Utorrent. And you don't have to change modes at all, (Utorrent as example) When you get a pop up from firewall, set as Out bound and click remember action, and when D+ pops up click trusted application and click remember action. Then you will never get any more pop ups from comodo regarding comodo... It's really not that hard..

    And don't be childish with your other comments please.


    EDIT: I have read your previous posts of you being a Sygate user, It does exactly the same thing when an application has been modified.

    Notifying you of a program change such as .DLL injections are a must as malware does this all the time.
    It would be VERY, stupid for a HIPS not to do this.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  23. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    490
    Of course comodo has SPI. Really though if you or him need help you should take it to the comodo forums so that we can help you out, without going off-topic here :)


    It's possible that he was using CLEAN PC MODE.

    Clean PC Mode: From the time you set the slider to 'Clean PC Mode', Defense+ will learn the activities of the applications currently installed on the computer while all new executables introduced to the system are monitored and controlled. This patent-pending mode of operation is the recommended option on a new computer or one that the user knows to be clean of malware and other threats. From this point onwards Defense+ will alert the user whenever a new, unrecognized application is being installed. In this mode, the files in 'My Pending Files' are excluded from being considered as clean and are monitored and controlled.

    So if he had say, A keylogger and had d+ in clean pc - he wouldn't get an alert at all because he's told comodo his computer is clean.
     
  24. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Yes and good for a server which does not change programs and stays running for months on end. runs 1 app constantly not hard to set 1 rule for it.


    also your right about childishness. We should of ended this conversation long ago. Fanboy will always be just that.. A fanboy. no point in arguing with them.
     
  25. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    490
    No I am not a "fanboy", I will move over to what ever product team has it's head in the right place.. If next year OA has a better attitude and goals than commodo, I will switch.

    What you are saying is misleading about CPF3, that's why I'm defending it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.