Comodo Firewall Pro Beta

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by xStylezx, Aug 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xStylezx

    xStylezx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    11
  2. fedore

    fedore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Thx for info, nice news :)
     
  3. xStylezx

    xStylezx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Yep,its excellent news.Also it is running fine for me so far with no hiccups!
     
  4. dwax

    dwax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    57
    Anyone have screenshots of it??
     
  5. xStylezx

    xStylezx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    There was screenshots posted over at the comodo forums i believe.Not sure what thread though
     
  6. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    422
    Cool! Thanks.

    Will check it out :)
     
  7. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    I want people who never liked comodo to try this version. I wanna see the look on their faces :D. Some like :eek: .
     
  8. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Still featuring a nice violation of privacy ? :)
     
  9. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Still got no evidence ;) .
     
  10. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Perhaps Bls440 has some, he sure sounds like he knows what he's talking about. Or are these just symptoms of FUD spreading slowly?
     
  11. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Sure.

    http://img522.imageshack.us/my.php?image=20070808200520ng1.jpg

    By the way, I've never had anything against Comodo, more like the very opposite. I've always suggested Comodo on every security forum I've registered, helped everyone to fix their issues with rules creation, etc.

    However, I've been wondering for so much time, how could that magnificient firewall could be free ? .. Well, here's the answer ...
     
  12. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    I am sorry but that has nothing to do with the privacy o_O .

    Nice try ;) .

    http://forums.comodo.com/help/phoning_home-t11317.0.html;msg80328#msg80328
     
  13. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    Why should I trust Comodo about this ?

    I've never heard about any False positive complain with Spyware Doctor.

    Their explanation is quite blur btw :)

    I don't wanna nourish the FUD/troll or whatever that is, I wanna know the truth like everyone in here I guess.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2007
  14. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Bls440: Spyware Doctor is known for false positives. Ask around, search the forum.
    You're being unfair, to them, yourself, and us, the users.
    Contact PC Tools and ask about it /report it. Please don't say "why should i". We get to a dead end!
     
  15. Bls440

    Bls440 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    82
    No need to talk this way mate. I wanna know the truth, and I'd be glad if SD admited that it was a false positive, as I'm using Comodo firewall myself, and very satisfied by it. I've also recommended it to everyone.

    Of course, I've contacted Spyware Doctor support and asked them to investigate, let's just wait for their answer.
     
  16. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    I was rude?
    I'm not judging you, i'm answering to help you. Perhaps "unfair" has taken other meanings in the english dictionary recently. ;)

    Cheers
     
  17. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    For pics go to Avast Forum in General: Surprise from Comodo. Looks good will have to try CFP 3 and see how much better than 2.4. Without proof I will not believe they are bad. I use Comodo on one system and PC Tools on another and both seem ok.
     
  18. acknsyn

    acknsyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    I say FUD. I ran a sniffer on a PC with commodo and there was no phoning back to commodo. I do have autoupdate disable.
     
  19. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Great. It seems that someone has a grudge against Comodo and just wants to spread manure. Some people just can't believe that anything really good can be for free.
     
  20. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    I do think Bls440 is not after that. He posted some concerns/doubts.
    Like he misinterpreted me, i think this is the case too. No harm is done i think.
     
  21. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I have not used Comodo for quite a while. I tried the alpha but it kept crashing on me so I couldnt explore it. I understand it had some kind of sandboxing. Does that work yet?
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2007
  22. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Is this thread about comodo and privacy or about latest beta?
     
  23. rhuds13

    rhuds13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Beta. Just had to ghost back to 2.4. Had problems with IE7 loading pages. But that may just be my system setup. Posted at CFP Beta forum and will wait for final release or may just switch this system over to PCTools FW for a while. Still like the CFP 2.4 version also. Just torn as to which I really like the best.
     
  24. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I installed it, checked it out and then uninstalled it. Way too many pop ups in learning mode. Very annoying. I don't like the new GUI at all. The GUI in 2.4 is much better. Just my two cents. :)
     
  25. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    GUI is not so nice but it has option for skinning, sp may be OK.
    Its HIPS cause too much slow down, learning mode is slow too.
    Pop ups a bit confusing than other HIPS. Custom made HIPS policies not working well( or I am not able to understanf how they work).

    I will prefer a dedicated HIPS alongwith version 2 ATM.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.