Comodo firewall for Windows 10

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Osaban, Feb 22, 2019.

  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
    I wanted to try out of curiosity Comodo firewall on Windows 10 (64 bit) version 1809 build 17763.316, basically to check outbound connections. Unfortunately the installation hangs at 35%, after several tries I gave up. The installer was from the Comodo website, and it was specifically tagged for Wndows 10. Has anybody installed it with Win 10? Conflict with Avira or Sandboxie?
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    You seems to have quite some issues lately with hanging stuff.

    There is not so much problem with win10 (just Comodo which is buggy itself) ,
    Using sandboxie alongside is possible but redundant, CF has its own sandbox (which is as good as sandboxie)

    With Avira no idea, I don't use 3rd party AVs.
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
    It's not the same problem, Linux MX installed perfectly, half an hour later it froze with Firefox. Comodo's installation hangs at 35% during the process... One of my tries was with Avira's modules disabled, still it would stop the installation at 35%...
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    Try to fully uninstall Avira, then install Comodo, sounds stupid but often works.
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
    Yes, it is a possibility, but I can imagine using Comodo without Sandboxie, but not without Avira which has no firewall of its own. I was wondering if other people have tried installing Comodo on Win 10, but I think nowadays third party firewalls are not so popular as in the past.
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    Just uninstall Avira to install Comodo, then reinstall it. When I used Comodo it was always the first to be installed.
     
  7. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
    I might try when I have time... May I ask why did you stop using Comodo?
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    I was a huge fan since v3 to v8, I used to do some heavy settings to make it the tightest possible (to be short i tweaked it so I could use Paranoid mode without much hassle).
    Then i was victim of a bug that was reported 10+ years ago without being fixed (basically ignored) .

    The bug is that Comodo cannot handle long list of HIPS rules and will suddenly delete them all without notice.

    From my researches and feedback from other users (who managedd to reproduce it), i concluded it is a major flaw and later found out it is by design, so it will probably won't be fixed.

    I didnt use Comodo since and it is in my list of banned software.

    Now if you don't tweak Comodo as i do, you probably won't get that bug.

    Note that Comodo staff whitelisted a malware twice, so I don't trust it much.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
    Okay, thanks for the detailed explanation.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    You are welcome.
     
  11. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I ran CF for years, and nothing ever got through. That was years before CS's rules made it even tougher. I took it out recently when I moved to REHips. I removed Rehips when I couldn't figure it out and put on OSarmor and Syshardener.

    If you're not technologically retarded like me, Rehips free or paid I think does it all, and you won't need Comodo. or NVT osarmor and syshardener can just about do the same.
     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    OSA or SH can't compete on the same level as Comodo, they aren't HIPS so they monitor less stuff nor they are sandboxes like ReHIPS.
    However in the hands of less knowledgeable users they give decent protection without much hassle.
    OSA is a very well made soft.

    The proper use of a security software is to use the one fitting your security strategy and one you can handle easily.
    Biggest mistake of users is to choose one too complex for them (usually hyped by others), then misconfiguring it or letting it at default setting and missing all the advanced features.
     
  13. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    You just described me. OSA and SH are doing well for me so far. I don't visit dark areas of the web, or download much of anything. That style isn't a guarantee these days, but it's always worked for me. The alternative is to return to Comodo firewall with Cruelsister's s settings and be content. It's never failed me.
     
  14. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    Germany
    COMODO Firewall and Windows 10 v1809 works well. Try to install offline by downloading the offline distributive. Another option is installing in safe mode. You may need to add some components of the CF in the exceptions of your antivirus.
    It also works well with Agnitum Outpost Firewall Pro 9.3.4934.708.2079, Binisoft Windows Firewall Control.
     
  15. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I've had the same problem.You may want to have a look at this video,it resolved my Comodo's installation problem.Windows 10 Home here.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYxjMYfQVX0&t=784s
    the real deal it's from 07:20
    PS.Remember,you will have to use the offline installer.
     
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
  17. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    VPN city
    It won't conflict with sandboxie as long as CFW is set to block unknown files instead of containing them.

    To make CFW behave this way...follow these steps!

    1. Set CFW to proactive security, DON'T RESTART JUST YET! postpone for now...

    2. Go to the firewall settings, make sure it's set to safe mode then enable "do not show popup alerts" and change the selection next to it to "block requests" Then go into "network zones" and enable "do not show popup alerts" and select "public"

    3. Enable HIPS on safemode, Enable "do not show popup alerts" option and select "block requests"

    4. In the container settings, enable "do not show privilege elevation requests" select "block"
    in the next set of settings for the container, the entry that says "run virtually" double click it and up at the top of the window that comes up, change it to "block" then click "ok"

    5. In the file rating settings. Enable "do not show popup alerts"

    6. In the virusscope settings. Make sure it will monitor EVERYTHING and not just what's in the container then enable "do not show popup alerts"

    7. Don't screw with any of the other settings unless you know what you're doing with them.

    8. Click "ok" and do the system restart it said you needed to do.

    If you've done it right, CFW will never pester you with any pointless Yes/No alerts and whitelisted applications will get to do everything they need to do

    As for Avira, the paid versions of avira have a few components that might conflict with comodo firewall, free version is just a blacklisting antivirus with heuristics, so there shouldn't be any issues there
     
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
    Thanks for the detailed explanation, although my interest was back in February and nowadays I have no more desire to install it. Hopefully it might help anyone who is thinking of installing Comodo firewall...
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.