Comodo dragon 23.2 with Privalert

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by wasgij6, Dec 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
    The new privalert extension is a lot like ghostery but is said to be more powerful

    Enjoy
     
  2. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    Yeah, it was a pleasant surprise yesterday after update.
    And it looks like an AdBlock substitution is on the way someday...
     
  3. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
  4. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    It would be nicer if they made of their SiteInspector extension, one that would not only allow to send an URL for analysis, but also block access to malicious domains. That would be something... :blink:
     
  5. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    From mighty Melih
    m00nbl00d you can use Comodo DNS in Dragon only to block malicious websites.
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Yes we can. :D But, it would be great to actually block malicious domains, and simply because many users choose to use other DNS services, such as OpenDNS + DNSCrypt, etc.

    It would actually be beneficial to both parties, the users and COMODO, IMHO. :)
     
  7. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    PrivAlert gets data from -http://pgl.yoyo.org/adservers/. There's a file in the extension named yoyo.com.txt. There's also a file threatDB.json.

    Does Ghostery get data from YoYo as well? I didn't download it. I just happened to have downloaded COMODO Dragon to test something. :)

    -edit-

    I installed the extension, and I manually updated it, and it wanted to connect to -http://point47.com/plugin/threatDB.json to update the database. I have restrictions in place, so it failed to connect to that domain.

    Some info on the domain:

    https://dshield.org/tools/dnscheck.html
    https://dshield.org/ipinfo.html?ip=95.211.11.133
    http://www.urlvoid.com/scan/point47.com/

    It's also related to the hostname zeus(.)sprybase(.)com, as you can see from those reports.

    Why wouldn't COMODO use own domains to update the extension data? o_O
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    ot posts removed
     
  9. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I'm finding that PrivAlert is also blocking adds. I only had Adblock and PrivAlert (with all options checked) installed and I disabled AB, and 90% of ads were still being blocked. So I uninstalled AB and am using only PA...........There is a discussion on Comodo's forum about it if you're interested.

    Try it yourself and see if you get the same results.
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Nice addition to the dragon.:thumb:
    could somebody help me here please.do i tick all the suggested threatlist or not?
    it finds threats but isnt blocking them.
    Thanks.
     
  11. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I have everything ticked and nothing white listed to test it out, and so far so good.
     
  12. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Thanks a lot Dbone.:thumb:
    Its blocking things now.its a nice addition to a good browser.:cool:
     
  13. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    OK.

    I finally found more on that domain (-http://point47.com/plugin/threatDB.json). Not much, but that domain (-http://point47.com) is ran by some Romanian web developer that works for SpryBase, according to his LinkenIn page (-http://ro.linkedin.com/in/gitlansorin).

    So, my previous question still remains: What does this have to do with COMODO?

    Is this guy working for COMODO o_O, and for some reason PrivAlert updates are coming from this guy's domain? o_O
     
  14. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    My bet is... he is Andrei Ciubotaru.



    htttp://forums.comodo.com/news-announcements-feedback-cd/comodo-dragon-ver-232-is-now-available-for-download-t89032.0.html


    What i don't get is. This "Privalert" thing, phones to Romania, in order to do what? I find it almost ironic that something about privacy, phones home all the time... But i haven't used it to see what it does.
     
  15. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    m00nbl00d I hope you don't mind but I put your question on Comodo forums.
    -https://forums.comodo.com/help-cd/comodo-privalert-t89033.0.html;msg643057#msg643057-
     
  16. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Fine by me. :)

    I also took some time and found which extension file had the info about such URL. I attached a screen shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    I'm currently using Dragon as my primary web browser and it's fantastic.
     
  18. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    There appears to exist some secrecism over who Gitlan Sorin is and why was PrivAlert updating from his domain. But, not only that, now PrivAlert seems to be gone according to what I've read over that thread.

    Maybe, as they said, it was unstable... :blink:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.