Comodo Cloud Antivirus public releases

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by wasgij6, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
    6-16-2016 Comodo Cloud Antivirus 1.2.392126.236B is Released

    https://forums.comodo.com/news-anno...virus-12392126236b-is-released-t115870.0.html
     

    Attached Files:

  2. martk1972

    martk1972 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    I wanted to try this version out, but it's still not compatible with CIS or CF. Hopefully the next release will fix this.
     
  3. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
    The Devs said cis 10 will be compatible with ccav. That is the next major version. They are skipping 9 for some reason
     
  4. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    It looks like an interesting release after years promising new stuff that never becomes true

    BTW the file rating stuff reminds a lot to norton...
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  5. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Is this cloud scanner similar to Hitmanpro?
     
  6. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    210
    As usual it doesn't work as it should. After the rating scan 59 files unknown to comodo submitted to Valkyrie. Guess what? After one day they are still unknown. If I try to send single unknown file to Valkyrie it says server not available. For me it is still in early beta.
     
  7. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Thanks for your report :thumb:
     
  8. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    Thanks!

    Sad.
     
  9. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    383
    Not to mention that it still have interruptions connecting to it´s cloud...with interruptions I mean so long that you give up scanning or whatever.
    Maybe not a good idea to use a "cloud" antivirus, that does not connect to a cloud? :confused:

    /E
     
  10. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    What other AV's engines uses Valkyrie?

    Anyway is at least a misleading product they claim that AV XXX hasn't detect it but this doesn't represent the real performance. I'm talking about the Valkyrie statistics window.
     
  11. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Installed the new CCAV.

    They have started doing the stuffs i.e have added Yahoo as a home page & search & option is selected by default during install.

    After install it starts Rating Scan. I would suggest users with limited data plan to cancel Rating Scan. Go to Sandbox Settings & untick "Submit automatically to Valkyrie". Start Rating Scan & you can submit Unknown manually. I dont know whats the file size limit to upload to Valkyrie.

    On my system Rating Scan took app 10-12 mins & found 26 Unknown files. All files were related to my portable programs. Only Windows Firewall Control installer, VLC uninstaller & FreeFileSync installer were Unknown other than portable programs files.

    During Rating Scan 2 times it mentioned Cloud not connected...Reconnecting... & Reconnected & continued the scan.

    Due to Rating Scan, now the lag is not there as programs analyzed & classified.

    I submitted all the 26 Unknown files to Valkyrie & it mentioned submitted successfully. Its been 20 mins. No verdict returned yet i.e status/rating for the files mentioned "Pending". Dont know if the verdict will be returned or not?

    Time to time I am seeing "Check your internet connection" on the GUI. And when I start browsing GUI shows ON. It seems if you are not doing anything CCAV thinks no internet connection...kinda seems so.

    Full scan after an hour was still at 17% & found 73 Unknown files, all related to NitroPDF & Windowsapps.

    Finally uninstalled it.

    I think a product which is heavily dependent on cloud mechanism & whitelists for smooth functioning & usability, their both cloud mechanism & whitelists sucks.
     
  12. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    They will upgrade Valkyrie with new servers in few weeks.
    Until then it will be on and off randomly...
     
  13. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    @yesnoo
    Thanks your observations again :)
    Classing Windows Apps as unknown is not very intelligent at all.
    Maybe this should be released to their 'Star Group' testers before releasing at all.
    Such a pity as i believe it still has huge potential.
     
  14. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Thats their typical reply like optimizing servers, new servers, infrastructure, bla bla...

    CCAV release was announced with Valkyrie implementation. They made a lot of noise about this.

    But CCAV first stable release was total failure. Not adding itself to security center & especiallly cloud not connected prob. And Valkyrie was just an upload tool with no returned verdict.
    Subsequent release with the same prob cloud not connected & Valkyrie just an upload tool.

    Then they announced major version coming with Full Valkyrie, new features, etc.
    And this major version released. Still intermittent cloud connection prob is there & Valkyrie stilll not working realtime & just an upload tool only.

    And no information on the file size limit for upload to Valkyrie. Users had requested option to set file size limit for Valkyrie. And this is important especially for limited data plan users coz I think anything Unknown to Valkyrie is uploaded i.e even if a program is in the Whitelists but not in Valkyrie database then it is uploaded to Valkyrie. And this option is not there in this so called major version release.

    What new features, options, etc?
    They have only added Rating Scan, thats it. Who wants that Lucky You? And Yahoo Home Page & Search?

    For a cloud product, cloud is still buggy & Valkyrie useless.
    And other quirks. Its a buggy & incomplete product.

    Theres whole lot probs with Comodo nowadays, no beta release, false talks, arrogant mods, etc...
     
  15. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    @yesnoo
    Yep false promises we hear endlessly, not good business sense imho ;)

    @siketa
    Re: server upgrade i'll believe it only when it happens :doubt:
     
  16. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I have just copied Comodo's answer... :)
    I'll try it in few months...
     
  17. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    ...in few months... :eek:

    time passes quickly though :thumb:
     
  18. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    I live in another timezone.... :)
    Let's give them enough time to make it work as it should...
     
  19. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    They have done some fixes & users on forum have reported Valkyrie is working i.e verdict is happening.

    I am giving it a try. Lets see how it goes.

    CCAV has potential but few features, options, etc needed & offcoz features should be fully functional & working correctly & seamlessly.
     
  20. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    974
    Location:
    Paris
    As Comodo does have a scanner of their own I really don't see why they don't implement the VT Mass API. It would save money in the long run as development costs would decrease, and would result in a CCAV product that would be much stronger in initial detection.
     
  21. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    That I too was thinking. But may be they have plan for CCAV paid version too. And I guess you cannot implement VT in the paid product for free, right?
     
  22. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I am trying again And verdict is not happening for me.

    And I see a CCAV folder in C drive with subfolders named 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, & 8. Under those folders a folder named Device is there & that is empty.
     
  23. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    974
    Location:
    Paris
    YN- They would have to pay something for it, the price depending on their needs. But the cost surely would be offset by the decrease in R&D and the resultant departmental attrition.
     
  24. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    They are already using VT or another multi engine tech. in valkyrie you can choose you old and compare it against comodo.
     
  25. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
    this just shows the result of other engines. valkyrie does not use any other engines to help make its verdict.
     
Loading...