Comodo AV

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Smiggy, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Now I know this presently is not best AV out there in terms of detection rates.

    Just wondering if teamed with a hardened D+ then to be honest it shouldn't really matter should it?
    If the AV engine doesn't 'recognise' the signature of a virus/malware instance then D+ should alert to its presence, or am I misterpreting the whole HIPS thing?

    I don't use Comodo's AV element of the suite but the more I play with D+ the more its becoming apparent that the AV aspect of my setup doesn't really matter apart from it being able to 'put a name on it'?

    What says you?
     
  2. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
  3. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    Me too think that Comodo AV now is really good. I've been using Comodo Internet Security on several computers for about 2-3 years and no problems with av-component, not mentioning its perfect HIPS (D+) :thumb: and Firewall :thumb: .

    And incoming CIS 6 must be something amazing and the same free.
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
  5. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Yeah got D+ hardened thanks.:thumb:
     
  6. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    Hi Smiggy :)

    I used comodo recently, just CAV not CIS. I was very impressed with it, both in detection and speed, and the D+ worked very well. As with most AV, it can use up resources quickly, but performance of the product certainly was fast and I think the D+ is an excellent addition and support feature that does the job in most cases.

    I am waiting to try version 6 when it is released, but I give credit to Melih and staff for a much improved product. Also, they reduced the size of the sigs by using more generic type of base. Certainly they can compete quite capably with free or paid solutions in my opinion. Also, I used their sandbox feature once, and it was flawless for testing an exe file that I knew was malware but it did not find any thing when I scanned it...then I right clicked the file and executed in sandbox, it stopped it right away.

    I have seen the in depth tests on it via a few video examples, pretty impressive overall. Its strengths far outweigh its weak areas, which are few.

    Have a good day!
    Jim
     
  7. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Your welcome.:thumb:
     
  8. gdiloren

    gdiloren Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    146
    Well, my only problem with CIS, and I had to remove it from my Win7 64 bits desktop last year, was that it was not "friendly" with some very "critical" Windows Update. The only way to make them succeed was indeed to remove the whole suite. This, keep in mind, you have almost each month!!! Guess it is not yet solved.:mad:
     
  9. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Never had any prob with windows update with CIS installed. I run CIS with default settings & no probs with windows updates.
     
  10. pirej

    pirej Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Posts:
    64
    Im using CIS for years.. with XP, Win7 x86 and x64 and its been flawless, no problems at all.
     
  11. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I still feel Comodo AV is still not up to par with the bigger guys out there. :rolleyes:
    Just my opinion.
     
  12. gdiloren

    gdiloren Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    146
    Of course, that's not "MAXIMUM PROTECTION", what I say. When you try to implement that, you get MAXIMUM annoyance with Windows Update most of the time as it goes at the root of Windows!!!
     
  13. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    ^ I'd be willing to bet the problem was a conflict between some of the built-in security in your 64-bit OS + Comodo not playing well together, than just Comodo itself. Do you think you're the only person on the planet with your settings maxed out? Not even close. But you're the only one that seems to have this problem. So it obviously then can't be the product (alone).

    I love my Comodo FW/D+, but have to say the AV isn't "quite" up there at the top... though it has certainly closed that gap considerably. I expect it to get there with v.6 though, both in detection rates & with a light footprint to boot.

    It's closed the gap enough that "if" I ever did decide to go back to using a real-time AV I'd just use the entire CIS suite instead of a stand-alone one in conjuction with Comodo FW/D+. There was a time not long ago where I wasn't sure I'd ever say this.

    But that's a very big "if". I'm quite happy these days without a RT AV. My setup has never been lighter, or my hard drive happier/quieter.
     
  14. lab

    lab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    My paid avast just ran out and I'm now trying Comodo suite and like it so far.
     
  15. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    For a free suite it is capable. I recently tested just the CAV not CIS. The D+ feature completed it well, but there was some confusion with updates, and often hanging for a few minutes before completing. It would hang at 90% then go to 96% until it said it was finished. I assumed it was the process of how it had to copy the update and join it to the bases.cav file that took the time to complete.

    Otherwise, it seemed fine. The D+ I liked best out of everything, and sandbox worked well. I have been thinking about trying the full CIS suite, but I get tired of testing sometimes, but find myself doing it anyway LOL

    I often ask myself, 'what is it you are looking for?' I cannot always answer that. They all have their oddities, weaknesses, minor or major conflicts, but it is the nature of AV software. I am looking forward to trying out version 6 when it is available.
     
  16. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I wasn't too impressed. As part of the suite on my brother's computer where I was testing it, it took an hour to do a full-scan, longer than any other AV I had tried. It also found a false-positive on a Command and Conquer game. On Virustotal, only it and 1 other AV detected it.
     
  17. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    I have heard that before by others about the scan time in Comodo. Personally, I rarely do a full scan, but some apps differ based upon type of scan.

    In regards to FP's, also this has been common with Comodo and a few others. I think the worst I have seen, if I remember correctly is Webroot after a VB100 test. I am sure they have improved, or I hope so.
     
  18. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    2,158
    Location:
    in a remote land :)
    One of my fellows tested CAV without cloud & D+ against some malwares, it perform quite well.

    the link to the video is on Comodo forum.

    (don't know if i have the right to put youtube tests link directly here)
     
  19. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Good critique...thanks!:thumb:
     
  20. Gringo95

    Gringo95 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    I would agree with this.

    I always have reservations about new Comodo releases because they often tend to be "unfinished" and IMO us the public used as a post release bug fixing resource. That said, the current suite is stable and offers adequate protection at default settings whilst maintaining the ability for advanced users to harden their system further if they so wish.

    I do experience a few heuristically generated FP's, but these are typical of every AV and not just restricted to Comodo.

    I've been using the full Comodo suite on Windows 7 and have also recommended it to others with varying ability levels. Apart from one making a personal choice to move into the cloud, no one has had anything bad to say about either performance or usability. It's a real pity it took this development so long to get to this point, but now that it has IMO it makes paying for something utterly pointless. Let's hope they don't go and spoil it all with V6.
     
  21. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Dont you worry, Devs have mentioned V6 is going to be a lot more easier, safer, & lighter.

    I too hope & think so.
     
  22. gdiloren

    gdiloren Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    146
    Wondering if Comodo AV has "automatic database" pushed up to it. I mean, do we have to manually update each time or is it updated as soon as there is a new database update is available?
     
  23. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    The AV database updates are automatically done, also you count with the Cloud AV that is always update.
     
  24. gdiloren

    gdiloren Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    146
    Fantastic!!! I'm impressed!!!:)
     
  25. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    Here is some problem with Comodo updates times. It checks updates about every half hour. And even if there is no real updates it writes that "the virus database has been updated on" the date and time of this last check though the bases are older. The same is for manual updates.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.