Command line use of TrueImage 8

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jmk94903, Jul 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Can TrueImage 8 be used with command line parameters to create a backup?

    The idea I have is to use a batch file to create a backup with a specific name. I want to do something that isn't handled by the TI Scheduler.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello John,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    The only workaround I can propose you is the following:

    - Start Acronis True Image and create a new task using Schedule Task wizard, but do not schedule it (on the Start Parameters page choose "Do not start automatically"). Set the name of the new task to "My Task";
    - Open the \Documents and Settings\[User]\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\ folder and find the script file with the following parameter inside: display name="My Task";
    - Copy the script file to the \Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage folder;
    - Use the following commands in the .bat file:

    c:
    cd \Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage
    TrueImageService /script: [script name]

    This should work for you.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Thanks Ilya. I'll give it a try.

    John
     
  4. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    It is not clear from your post what Acronis product this applies to. I have the "consumer" version and I do not seem to have TrueImageService.exe in my installation.

    Do I assume there is no way for me to follow these instructions?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MKairys,

    Thank you for using Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    This instruction is for the consumer version of Acronis True Image.

    TrueImageService.exe is in the C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImage folder.

    Thank you.
    _ _
    Alexander Fedotov
     
  6. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Thank you for your reply, and thank you for the diligence with which you follow up on postings to this forum.

    I have TI 9 installed and in that installation I do not have TrueImageService.exe. Is there an equivalent?
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello MKairys,

    For TI 9.0, TrueImageService.exe is located in the C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage folder.

    Obviously, you will need to amend Ilya Toytman's instructions at post #2 above accordingly.

    Regards
     
  8. Dcrano

    Dcrano Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I know this thread is a little old, but I just found an easier way to run the tasks scripts with Ver 9.0, without any batch files using the Window's Scheduled Task Manager.

    Using the above on how to create, copy and rename the *.tis TI script files.

    Create a new Windows Task, and browse to the TrueImageService.exe file as shown below.



    Now all you have to do is at the end of the path, after the " mark, add a space, the /script:, another space and the file name of the script file ".tis" that you created from ATI, and copied and renamed, to the proper location of the TrueImageService.exe files location. Works fine for me using WinXP sp2, and ATI ver 9.0 build 3,666.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dcrano,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Sharing your experience is very much appreciated.

    If you have any further experience to share, please feel free to post it on this forum.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.