Command Line Scan fails [Trial Version]

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by slowofmind, Oct 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slowofmind

    slowofmind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago
    Greetings,

    My OS is: WIN_98_SE... I have been running the TRIAL version of NOD32 for the last few weeks. I have only 8 days left.
    I have been trying to setup a Scheduled Scan with Command Line Switches
    as per Blackspear's tutorial.
    I have done everything in his tutorial starting with post #70 and ending
    with posts #77, #78, and #79. Everything looks exactly as in the screenshots.
    Yet, when I right-click on the task and click "Run now"... a 'Confirmation'
    window pops-up and asks:
    "Do you really want to perform 'Weekly scan ALL hard drives' task?"
    I then click 'yes'... the NOD32 window blinks... and that's that. Nothing happens! No scan takes place.
    Yet the task line is updated showing that the task was "Last run on"
    whatever the date and time was when I clicked "Run now".

    If I can get the Scheduled Scan to work, and 'eset' will continue to support
    WIN 98 for a while longer, I will buy NOD32.

    I was bitterly disappointed recently when ZONELABS (ZoneAlarm) suddenly
    discontinued support for WIN 98! Does anyone know if 'eset' plans to end
    support for WIN 98 anytime soon?

    Thanks for any help...
    Victor G.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hello,
    please check the NOD32 Scanner logs. Scheduled scans are run silently in the background, and the logs and the CPU usage are the only indicators of such a scan being performed. You can also right-click the task and select Run now to run it instantly.
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re: Settings Question

    With Windows 98 you have to add in a "Work directory" setting, I can't remember what it is, but it is required, I've come across this before.

    I'll ask around and find the answer.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Re: Settings Question

    The "Working Directory" needs to be C:\Program Files\Eset or c:\progra~1\Eset or wherever you installed NOD32 to.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2006
  5. slowofmind

    slowofmind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago
    Greetings,

    Marcos: The Scanner Logs has no entries for the Scheduled scan.
    Blackspears: Will try your suggestion and let you know the result.

    Thanks very much for both responses!

    Victor G.
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  7. slowofmind

    slowofmind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    Trinidad & Tobago
    Greetings...

    WIN_98SE does require an entry in "Working Directory" when setting up a Scheduled Scan using Command Line Switches.

    Blackspear: Thank you very much for the help!!!

    Now, all I need to find out is if eset will support WIN_98 when the new version is released... please?

    Victor G.
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welocome.


    No details are known for sure about the release of version 3.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.