Command Line Interface behaves differently?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mixx, Apr 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mixx

    mixx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Good day,

    I am looking for help with this strange problem:

    I defined a Task that runs without schedule (as I regrettably never got scheduling to work properly). It does incremental backups into the series of files MyBackup.tib, MyBackup2.tib, MyBackup3.tib,...
    It also sends me an email notification upon completion. It works as it should if I run the task from within the Acronis application.

    However: I am trying to use the same task from a batch script now (for automated backup).

    What happens is strange: it does run the Acronis Task script. But instead of incementing the file name from, say, Mybackup2 to MyBackup3, it overwrites Mybackup2 with the new instance. It does *not* send me an email notification upon completion.

    I did check, the batch script runs from the same Acronis script file. It uses this command line (including the quotation marks):

    Code:
    "c:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\TrueImageHomeService.exe" /script:"c:\ProgramData\Acronis\TrueImageHome\Scripts\6984C36F-B0F7-4C4C-BE19-405FAF1B2AF9.tib.tis"
    I'd appreciate any help, as I need a kind of automated backup (which I'd like to use upon logout, once a week).

    Thanxx, Mixx

    PS: I am on Vista Home Premium, using Acronis True Image Home 2009, Build 9.646.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mixx,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image

    In order to resolve the initial issue with schedule tasks execution please download and install the latest build (9709) of Acronis True Image Home 2009 from your account on our web site. Then check your PM (private message) and follow instructions to renew scheduler. Scheduler update will solve the issue so you won’t have to launch script file.

    Let me know if email notification issue will remain.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  3. mixx

    mixx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I have to return to this problem. I did all the updates (am now on 9.769) but the problem still persists.

    Again, I am not trying to use the scheduler anymore, my whole setup is based on a logout-script (= windows BAT-File) which I like for numerous other reasons.

    I would like to be able to call from this logout script Acronis TI Home 2009 using the command line interface as in my original post. This does run the backup task, but incorrectly, with the problems described in my OP.

    This is clearly a bug, unless the intricacies of Windows Batch files are to blame.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanxx, Mixx
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you run the script directly from the Command Prompt instead of from the BAT file, does it still do it incorrectly?

    Is it always the #2 file that gets overwritten or is it the last file that was created before you run the script?

    Does the same thing happen if you create a new script and test it?

    You might also try updating to the latest build of TI 2009 (9,796) and see if it helps. This build may have problems so I strongly recommend you create a backup image before you upgrade to it -- you may need to revert.
     
  5. mixx

    mixx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you for answering.

    I made the following observations:

    It does work properly if I run the incremental backup from Acronis.

    It does work properly if I run the command line interface from the DOS prompt.

    It does work correctly if I put the command into a batch file and I execute it from there, but it does not send me the Email notification anymore.

    This is where trouble starts (if I do not count email).

    My batch scripts are in a chain: one script calling another, another...

    The last one is a DOS findfile command that runs if certain conditions are met (I test the age of a particular file and if older than a week, I'd like to run Acronis TI). In order to avoid quoting problems in DOS batch files (which I do not understand) the last script does nothing but calling the command interface line that worked both from the DOS prompt and from the simple batch file.

    The script does run, but my test from yesterday show that it is erratic. Sometimes it overwrites the previous incremental weekly image, but more often it just produces a new weekly incremental image, but this image can not be correct as it becomes very large all of a sudden (when the correct call produces 28 Mbytes, this nested call produces ca. 750 Mbytes).

    This can not be correct.

    I know that DOS batch is primitive and has many issues. But I do not see how a proper command line invocation (even if at the end of a chain) should cause unreliable results with Acronis TI.

    What can I do now? How can I test? How can I call the batch script that works with the Acronis command line call in it as it should, at the end of a DOS batch file chain in a clean way?

    Thanxx, Mixx
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2009
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Try changing your BAT files into CMD files and see if it makes a difference. If you're just using simple commands in your BAT files, all you should need to do is rename the extension to CMD (MyScript.BAT becomes MyScript.CMD, for example).
     
  7. mixx

    mixx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I am sorry, I posted a response a couple of weeks ago, but got a browser-crash while doing and it apparently did not make it.

    Anyway, problem still unsolved but I found a primitive work-around. As far as Acronis TI is concerned, the problem still persist. There must be an issue with using the app from nested batch files.

    I solved my problem by writing a very primitive batch script that does not call others (on this first level the script works OK, with the exception of not sending an email notification). Since I can not use the "findfiles" utility to determine how old the log-file I am creating upon successful execution is, I had to resort to some stone-age tricks (I check if the script runs on the week-end, if so I check if the logfile exists. If yes, nothing is done, otherwise the backup is run and logfile is written. On weekdays the logfile is deleted).

    With that I can run the backup once a week (on week-ends only) upon hibernation. Sort of does what I need but it is stone age. It is not right that the product can not do this on its own.

    The best thing for it would be to have an option that a task runs upon shutdown or hibernation. That is a very nice way of doing image backups.

    Cheers, Mixx
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.