Command Antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Honyak, May 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    I did not find much doing a search so I am seeking comments and experience concerning Command Antivirus.
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    did you try here I have used command in the past and it runs light on the system and has a good detection rate
     
  3. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    Thanks BigC, I did see the website, but I was looking in Wilders for users comments. I was going to trial it, but I notice the trial does not include updates.

    Regards
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    The reason i quit useing command was that it got to be more trouble trying to get it updated than it was worth. :mad:
     
  5. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    In short:

    Pros: Very light, simple, stable, price, very good detection rate and solid heuristics.

    Cons: Better packer support is desired…


    tECHNODROME
     
  6. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    Yes, I googled it and there were some of the same issues reported by users, but they were from 2003 and early 2004. Wonder if anything has changed?
     
  7. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    If it helps, I've never experienced any problems with Command AV. Its been very stable and flawless for me.



    tECHNODROME
     
  8. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    Thank you Technodrome.
    How long have you used it?

    Regards
     
  9. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    I've been using it for a very long time. Since 1999 (I think). I had my first contact with CSAV when I was in college. I liked it so I bought it.


    tECHNODROME
     
  10. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    I noticed when googling it a lot of universities used it for their student network.
    Sounds good, I may trial it after all. I have trialed all the big guns and now am working on the lesser known so to speak. But Command sounds like a decent package.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
  12. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    Thanks again, a very informative read, when I did a search for command antivirus I must have missed this somehow. Glad you pointed me in the right direction.

    Regards
     
  13. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Same here not as long as you not quite a year. Difficult for me to set up but once I set it up it worked great. I plan to renew it on my Emachine for at least another year. ;)

    Reading the link I would add one thing it updates at least three or four times a week now a days. Sometimes almost every day of the week. Weekends the least. ;)
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2005
  14. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    What was difficult to set up?

    Regards
     
  15. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    After the download the unpacking it and as BigC stated getting it to update. You have to set up the update and make choices. (See post 8 in the Black Cat link, click the sites tab, right there you need to make some choices to set it up, I am on my Compaq and not my Emachine or I could better explain).Put in your password. I had to read the manual. Also at the time Bellgamin got it too and he needed to know where to look for the update status which is in the Help>About. I think the fact that it is so few options makes it a little difficult you have to bore into it a little not just four or five "radio buttons" like most. I should tell you I have mine to alert me to update and then I go do it manually. It puts a little gift box in the icon tray. You click on it and then load up the definition update.

    Hope this helps. Check out their manual I think it has some pictures and is not badly written like some. ;)
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2005
  16. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    Thanks once again, I am dl'ing manual now.
     
  17. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Two points to watch out for with CSAV;

    In the past

    1. The trial version could not be updated, but you could obtain a free "temporary" username/password to allow this.

    2. The $19.95 purchase price from the main Authentium site did not include support. You then had to pay extra for this.

    I do not know whether these restrictions still apply.

    A very underrated AV; stable, relatively small memory footprint and IME, has virtually no effect on system performance. Lightning fast on-demand scanner and a large signature database.
     
  18. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Hi.
    Can f protect for dos free,be used with win xp.
    thanks
     
  19. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I tested out command AV last week I think and I found it to be a very good AV, as stated before with little resource usage and a fast scanner. The ONLY thing that bothered me was the reporting options, for some reason I could only get it to keep a log file of 82kb or so and that was a little annoying when running it against some samples, so I had to break the OD testing down to each seperate folder in order to get a good log file from it. Other than that it was nice. If interested look in my sig.
     
  20. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    Looks like e-mail support is available at no charge, but phone support is pricey.

    I did already check your link likuidkewl, it is the reason I started looking more into it.

    Regards
     
  21. Cap'n Kirk

    Cap'n Kirk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Georgia
    I recently purchased Command and have been using it for about a month. It is very stable but is not very "configurable". I also found that on my system at least, CAV uses twice as much ram as the latest F-Prot AV which I had trialed just prior to getting CAV. F-Prot used on avg 10-12mb of ram versus 22-25mb for CAV. Other than that, CAV has not caused any slow downs at all.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.