Come on Avira, its just Kaspersky

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Jun 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Started looking at the Kaspersky website and Avira didnt like it. What pisses me off with Avira is when the stupid web scanner detects something real or not, it kills IE7 until I reboot. You can close it but it wont connect.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
    I can't anymore
    HEUR/HTML.Malware or HEUR/Crypted all the time.Just uninstalled it.
     
  3. SteveS335

    SteveS335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Trjam,

    I tested this, and it only detects if you have the heuristic setting as high, which is specifically noted to expect false positives. On Medium (default setting) there is no detection.

    I would suggest that you do something positive about this, such as quarantine the detection, and send it to the Virus Lab here, or direct to Stefan here. Posting these issues on Wilders' is a complete waste of your time in terms of getting the problem resolved. What's the point?

    If you have other problems, then I suggest you post on the Avira forum.

    Steve
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    where I post them, is up to me.
     
  5. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    I get/got one at bankOmerica. I guess it could be a heuristik malware that takes your money and won't give it back. Oh wait...... :)
     
  6. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    what's your heur level settings Jeff?
     
  7. 337

    337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    Well said!! I post on Wilders, cause I LIKE WILDERS!!:ouch:
    I also thought that Av companies check here from time to time? NO??
    Therefore I don't see it as a waste of time.
    Back to topic.
    It does seem funny one AV will cry foul if you visit a competitors page! Coincidence?:ninja:
    :D
     
  8. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    With these kind of false positives there shouldn't even be a "High" Setting..
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    my settings were. keyword there, high. Now they are set to Blackspears settings.:cool:
     
  10. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    I think we have a new profession here: full-time av switcher :D


    :-* just kiddin'
     
  11. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    While I don't see the point in posting trivial things like false positives on this forum, in this case it was useful because your response, Steve, enlightened us on the real issue, namely that the setting was set to high and as a result these things should be expected.

    So in a way this was good. A learning experience to enlighten the ignorant.

    When you have more than one security program, its easier to go to a site like this and hopefully get most of the info you need for all your programs. Its easier than having to jump to the many vendor sites.
     
  12. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London
    Actually under the circumstances it would have been a good call by Avira....the code on that page has a part similar to that used by malware (basically it identifies the browser being used and presents content slightly differently based on the browser)...malware sometimes uses such a mechanism to deliver custom exploits for each specific browser. Ofcourse, in this case it is completely innocent ;)
     
  13. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Weighing in with a personal opinion here. If there is a FP, submitted to the vendor so they can sort it out. You cant expect computer security firms to spend time to keep tabs on all possible avenues where people may post on these issues.
     
  14. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    What?! It kills kaspersky??! :eek: I thought it had some self-defense. Maybe you could configure it so it doesn't get terminated or something...
     
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    nope, it was avira's webguard (heuristic settings on high level) issuing a false positive in kasperskys website.
     
  16. SteveS335

    SteveS335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Well, as the age old saying goes:
    You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink:rolleyes:

    Steve
     
  17. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    One thing I've learned from Antivir, is leave the scan portion on high for heuristics and the guard on medium. I thinks that gives the best protection with the least amount of FP.

    Ice
     
  18. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812

    FP can be just as bad as a virus them self to the wrong user.. Delete this file oops no more system.... =X FP are not trivial in anyway shape or forum they can do more dmg then a virus. depending on who is throwing the switches.
     
  19. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    true, but i suspect it will hinder detection quite ALOT.
     
  20. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I do not agree. Have everything set to high. The premise is to keep malware off of your system. If you decrease detection, you increase the probability of infection. There are few FPs, and if there are, you can make a rational decision based on data available on the internet.

    I rotate between Avira, Dr. Web, NIS 2008, ESS, and several others. Never had malware infect my systems. Use common sense while on the net, and you eliminate the biggest variable (you) from the equation.
     
  21. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    good point. I put my guard back on high.:D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.