cmd is not a valid win32 HELP PLEASE

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mel0407, Mar 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mel0407

    mel0407 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    o_O o_O hi keep getting cmd is not a valid win32 apllication be very grateful for any help. was trying to ping but it wont let running windows xp thanks
     
  2. Billy Blaze

    Billy Blaze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Vorticon VI
    This sounds like an issue where cmd has been corrupted, either by some type of malware or the removal of the malware.

    If you are using Windows XP, first try going into Windows\System32 and running cmd from there.

    If that doesnt work I would suggest trying the following steps described here

    The poster also offers a batch file to do most of the work but the same can be done manually.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2006
  3. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    Welcome Mel. Check the CMD.EXE program, it should be a 379KB file. You can try
    restoring the file or you can just type 'command' instead of 'cmd' and then use the
    ping program. It should work. Also Billy is right, check the computer for viruses.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2006
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.