cloning to a directory on a USB connected hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Robert Firestone, Jul 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robert Firestone

    Robert Firestone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Vernon Hills, Illinois
    I need to clone a drive to a directory on my backup drive (USB connected) as I need to keep the data that is already on that drive and add another cloned image - There is sufficient space on that destination hard drive. How do I do that?
     
  2. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Do not double post you won't get double the answers and some regulars may not reply at all.

    To answer your question you can't, read the user manual.
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Let's get the terms correct ... there is a Clone feature and an Image (or Backup) beature, but never a clone image when speaking about True Image. You need to use the Backup feature to accomplish what you want.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Robert,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    If you want to backup (not clone) the hard drive to external hard drive, you can follow these steps (the instructions were created for Acronis True Image Home 2009):

    Launch the program -> Backup -> My computer -> Choose the desired partitions (C partition is already marked) -> Next -> At the Target backup archive window select Create new backup archive item and choose the external HD at the appropriate box and specify the folder you want to place the archive to -> Next -> Options -> Select the desired scheduler for the backup operations, specifying the necessary credentials -> Next -> Select Incremental or differential backup method, mark "Create a new full backup after" box and specify the number of incremental or differential backups -> Next -> Next -> Next -> At Automatic consolidation window specify the desired quotas for the target location -> Next -> Next -> Proceed.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.