cloning Problem with True Image 9.0

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by thkogel, Feb 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thkogel

    thkogel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Germany
    Hello,

    I want to clone my System form 250er HDD (IDE) to a 400er S-ATA HDD.
    The the clonig process working fine. In BIOS I set the 400er HDD as Boot device. System (WinXP SP2) boot pretty but befor logon I see for few seconds the information "acronis true image - file not found" and the system reboot. I have disconnect the IDE HDD without better results.
    Pleaese help me.
    btw: I only wont to clone the System partition to another device not the whole hdd. Can i make a Backup from the 250 IDE HDD and restore it to the new 400er S-ATA ?
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Cloning IS making a copy of the ENTIRE drive to another drive.
    What you need is the Backup feature. Does your 250 gig drive have more than the one partition with the OS?
     
  3. thkogel

    thkogel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Germany
    no the 250 gig onyl have one os but more partitions.

    Only:

    250 GB (IDE):
    - System c: (WIN XP) 10GB
    - Video d: 150 GB
    - MP3 e: 60 GB
    - Data f: 30 GB

    new (wont to have):

    400 GB (s-ata):
    - System c: (WIN XP) 10 GB (the cloning of 250 gig hdd)
    - Media d: 390 GB

    250 GB (IDE)
    - Archive e: 200 GB
    - Backup f: 50 GB

    Videofiles, MP3's etc copy with totalcommander to other hdd.
     
  4. thkogel

    thkogel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Germany
    Have make a backup from 250 gig HDD and restore it to the 400 gig.
    Windows boot, but befor Windows switch to the Desktop it hangs. No error or Rebooting.
    btw: i use auto-logon
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello thkogel,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    When you are backing up a hard drive, you may later restore only chosen partitions.
    Please note that as Ralphie pointed, cloning always makes a copy of the entire drive. Please refer to chapter 13 “Transferring the system to a new disk” of the respective User's Guide for details. Please note that it is strongly not recommended to have several system hard drives connected during a boot sequence. So we would recommend you to detach one of the drives before booting the system after cloning is complete.

    Please refer to this thread for explanations and solutions.

    As for transferring your operating system from IDE to SATA hard drives, please take a look at this article.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.