Cloning Down - Is it Possible?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hiptech, Oct 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    I'm setting up an HP system for a friend and have a similar issue to Bumpyneck, except I'm starting out with an 80GB C-Drive with 5.37GB Used / 62.0GB Free space and D-Drive (partition of C-Drive) with 6.77GB Used / 298MB Free.

    Question: Is it possible to "clone" the current 80GB drive down to a smaller 40GB and use it as a boot drive with programs?

    I realize cloning is usually for moving up in size, but since so little of it is being used I'm hoping to transfer it all to an extra 40GB drive and then reformat and add the current 80GB drive for use with data files.

    Thanks, appreciate the help.
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I don't see any reason why this could not be done. You could choose the manual transfer method which enables you to resize partitions on the new disk (p. 65 in the User Guide). To resize partitions you would check the Proceed Relayout box. When you are satisfied with the partition layout shown you would uncheck this box and click on Next where you will see a cloning summary box. It is only then that you can proceed with cloning. When finished shut down the system and unplug your computer. Remove the source drive and install the target drive as Master.

    You might even be able to use the proportional partition transfer method where the new disk space is proportinally distributed among cloned partitions (p. 63). There's no harm in trying. If you're not happy with the cloning summary, do it manually.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2006
  3. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Worked like a charm...

    Thanks dld!
     
  4. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Glad to help. Just curious, did you use manual transfer or proportional partition transfer?
     
  5. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Started with your suggestion on the manual transfer and then backed out and tried it auto. My thinking was if it wasn't going to work automatically, I could retry manually.

    No issues, all went well - thanks again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.