Cloning After Primary Disk Locked System Freezes

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tellicokiyuga, Oct 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tellicokiyuga

    tellicokiyuga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I am using True Image Home 11.0 with the latest update. I was attempting to clone my primary hard file to a secondary USB connected hard file. TI initiated the beginning of the cloning process. TI indicated that it had locked the primary disk and then the reboot message appeared. I selected reboot. The reboot process started to initiate. I got the Windows start up screen. However right after the Windows start up screen the system froze and would not proceed with the cloning process. I shut down the system and tried again and the same thing happened. If I take the primary disk and place it in an external USB enclosure and try to look at the disk the system doesn't display the drive.

    I do not have file password protection set in the bios.

    It appears the TI has set something that doesn't allow a user to access the drive. Is there some way that I can unlock the lock?

    What can I do to unlock the drive?

    Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. NumLock

    NumLock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    223
    My Computer > Manage > Disk Management and assign drive letters to the partitions inside the external disk.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    tellicokiyuga,

    Try a reverse clone. There is an excellent chance it will work. Put your old HD in the USB enclosure and the new HD in the computer. In its final resting position.

    Boot from the Acronis TI CD and perform the clone.

    Standard clones with HDs in a USB enclosure are hit and miss.

    by Nigel Bree (Symantec Ghost programmer)

    Success?
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
  4. tellicokiyuga

    tellicokiyuga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the suggestion. I tried the reverse clone as you suggested. However it didn't unlock the disks. I ran the clone from using the TI CD boot disk. The cloning process ran to completion however now the cloned disk appears to be locked just like the original primary disk is locked.

    I think what I really need is a process to remove the lock on the disk. How can I remove the lock on the disk that TI has placed on the disk.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    tellicokiyuga,

    I'm not sure what you mean by...

    Did you perform the reverse clone then disconnect the USB HD BEFORE trying to boot from the internal HD? If you boot with both HDs attached you can cause major problems.
     
  6. yeomans

    yeomans Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    This sounds very similar to the problem I am having...
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=222918

    When I tried to re-boot, I was able to take it to the windows boot options menu and select "restore last known good config" to enable a boot.

    Do you get anything on the screen when you turn the pc on now?

    Which version of Windows are you using (and service pack?). I have a hunch that mine stopped working after I installed xp-SP3
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tellicokiyuga,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify, what do you mean by "disk is locked"? Is there any error message? When exactly does it appear? What is its text?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.