Clone of Hard Drive Failed

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by krelvinaz, Nov 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. krelvinaz

    krelvinaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Best way to clone disk

    I've had a real turkey of a weekend....

    Got a 300gb ata/100 internal disk to upgrade an existing 80gb ata/100 disk of the same brand (Seagate).

    Their tool, discwizard copied the contents but the result was not usable. The system would boot, but I would end up with just the desktop background image, no toolbar, start bar, nothing with right-click mouse, only ctrl alt del to get to taskbar. Really strange.

    I am looking to TrueImage as a possible cure and long use tool.

    I made the reboot cd form true image. Can that be used to boot off of to then create the clone ?? or do I need to use the tool from a fully booted system first.
     
  2. krelvinaz

    krelvinaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Best way to clone disk

    More info.

    I tried the clone image already to the new disk which already had a copy of the partition on it. I was not watching it closely but it seemed to finish very quickly, much too quickly for an 80gb copy.

    It was sitting at the screen that said everything was done, press any key to shutdown system. No key hit would do anything, the system was locked up.

    rebooting took me back to the original disk cleaned up and booted the original drive okay.

    I then shutdown, tried the second disk with the same problem as before but I highly suspect the copy did not actually take place.

    I am doing a format of the new drive now to make sure that nothing is left of the original transfer from discwizard and will try again shortly.

    Hense my question about using the reboot cd or not.
     
  3. krelvinaz

    krelvinaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Best way to clone disk

    After reading more stuff while waiting for the format and checking what is on the bootable cd, it is apparent that you cannot initiate a clone from the cd.
     
  4. krelvinaz

    krelvinaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Well, I tried it again.

    System rebooted, said it was analysing the partitions for about 20 seconds, then said it was 100%, scrolled up the screen and stated the clone was complete.

    As this point it was looking for any key to reboot but was actually locked up. Nothing but a power off of the computer would restart it.

    Rebooted the machine, it again did the partition checks said they were both 100% and booted to the OS.

    Check the new disk, and it is as I left it a 279gb formatted disk with nothing on it.

    Any idea if Version 8 of TrueImage might work instead ?

    I see lots of complaints that TrueImage 9 is not working.
     
  5. krelvinaz

    krelvinaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    I think I found a bug.

    After filing a note with support, and seeing where I could get a copy of TI version 8 (not available for download any more)

    I restarted the system, removed the USB hard drive which is on the system. and noticed that the new hard drive was not drive D as I expected.

    I recalled forcing drives to move so that when I used a 6 port USB Card reader, i could see the drives.

    So I changed the second drive to be drive D, rebooted and started over.

    This time, it analysed the disk partition for about 1 min 15 seconds, scrolled up and is now currently actually copying the data from the old drive to the new drive.

    Apparently, it did not like the drive where it was (Drive H) even though it had its drive letter correct the whole time.

    Will see how the resulting copy works.
     
  6. krelvinaz

    krelvinaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    This time round it appears to have worked.

    Currently working with the 300gb drive and the other removed.

    Will test it more tomorrow.
     
  7. krelvinaz

    krelvinaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Another issue.

    When the process of cloning the disk was complete, the system locked up. While it said press anykey to continue, only a power off could get it to shut down.

    I suspect since I've never seen what it is supposed to do, that when you press a key, it is supposed to sync the partions clear the OS and then reboot the system. This only happens if you power off and then restart the system with the original disk in the master position.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello krelvinaz,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    1. Please be aware that Acronis True Image 9.0 allows you to perform the disk cloning operation both from under Windows and when booted from Bootable Rescue CD.

    2. If you want to temporarily replace your copy of Acronis True Image 9.0 with version 8.0 then please do as I have suggested in this previous post of mine.

    3. As for several unsuccessful attempts to perform the disk cloning operation, I should say that it is rather hard to figure out what exactly has happened. Especially since your description is not clear enough for me.

    However, since there was some external USB hard drive connected (which had drive letter D:), I assume that you might have cloned to the wrong hard drive.

    Could you please describe the problem in more details?

    - What did external USB hard drive contain after the above mentioned "unsuccessful" disk cloning operations have been completed?

    Actually, as I understand, Acronis True Image 9.0 indicated that the disk cloning process has been completed successfully. Am I correct?

    - Provide more information on connected hard drives, their types, partition layouts, drive letters, etc.

    - Find the full version name and build number by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window;

    - What operating system you use?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appeared step-by-step.

    4. Regarding the system "hang-up" at the end of the disk cloning operation.

    Please be aware that Acronis True Image 9.0 suggests you to turn off your PC for only one purpose: to allow you to unplug one of the hard drives, since keeping both original and cloned hard drives connected might cause different boot or drive letter assignment problems. This means that if you have received that message asking you to press any key to turn off your PC then the disk cloning process has been actually completed successfully. However, Acronis True Image 9.0 certainly should not hang on this screen.

    I'm afraid that it is rather hard to find out what exactly has caused this problem. However, if you will decide to proceed with the investigation then please do the following:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;

    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;

    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;

    - Reproduce the problem;

    - Do a "cold" reboot without booting into the operating system but from the the beforehand created diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;

    - Turn off the PC;

    - Unplug one of the drives;

    - Boot into Windows and collect the report file from the floppy.

    Submit a request for technical support. Describe the issue and attach the collected report.txt file to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.