Clone/Image Copy-Populate Replacement Hard Disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by barney1121, Jun 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. barney1121

    barney1121 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I have done searches, read threads, went to FAQ, etc. and remain totally confused. Here's my problem and why I purchased TI9.3633. The hard disk in my laptop is slowly going belly-up. Its capacity is 30GB. I am replacing it with a new 60GB unit. Both disk drives cannot be attached at the same time. What is the best way for me to off-load the smaller drive and populate the new larger drive? Any all help would be appreciated.
     
  2. mark3

    mark3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    First create a TI Rescue CD. Then create an image of your current hard disk to a DVD. (You can do this using TI while in Windows or by means of the Rescue CD). Swap the hard disks and restore the image to the new disk using Rescue CD.

    Before you proceed with creating the image to DVD, search here for threads dealing with images to DVD as it appears that some posters have had problems restoring from DVD. Also, read TI help re DVD image creation and restore. In the end you should have a successful transition from your old to new disk.
     
  3. barney1121

    barney1121 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the reply. This is what I was hoping for. Must I use a DVD? The laptop only supports CD's. The .tib file will be placed on an external USB hard disk.
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    For sheer speed and easy of use I suggest you really should consider getting an external USB hard drive. It can be of standard size it need not be specifically for laptops.
    I know your initial requirement is to move to a larger internal drive and this would only involve one lot of juggling several CDs to do the job. However, longer term, an external drive is a much more convenient media to use for future backups and transfers.

    Xpilot
     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I must learn to read properly! I see you already have a USB drive!
    The only CD you will need is the Acronis rescue CD. Store the image of your old drive on the USB drive. Take out your current drive and replace it with the new one. Boot from the rescue CD with the USB drive attached and restore to the new drive.
    When you reboot you will find that there is unallocated space on the new drive. Create a secure zone in this free space, then using the same wizard delete the secure zone and you will be able to bring the freed space into use.

    Xpilot
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi barney1121,

    Just to add a little to what Xpilot has already said. When you get to the point in the restore process where you need to select the partition or disk to restore, make sure you tick the checkbox adjacent to Disk 1. Doing so will then automatically select the MBR & Track 0 data to be included in the restore. This is essential in order for the replacement drive to become bootable.

    Regards
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    An additional thought.
    I would suggest booting from the user create bootable CD and create a full image backup onto your usb drive. By doing this before you make the switch, this ensures that TrueImage sees your usb drive. I would hate to see you remove the old drive and then find out the usb drive is not seen. There have been other posts where the usb drive is not seen (from the CD) and restores are difficult. Doing the backup from the CD is a safety precaution.
     
  8. mark3

    mark3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    Since you have an external USB hard disk, there is not point in creating an image onto CDs unless you want extra security. As the others have already pointed out, use your Rescue CD to create an image on your external hard disk, swap the disks in the laptop and restore the image (including the MBR). When you boot you will find that Windows takes a bit longer to boot, and you will get a message that Windows has installed new hardware and needs to reboot. After the reboot Windows will boot normally.
     
  9. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,513
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    If it's possible to connect the new HDD via USB or other as slave/backup. Then just use the MigrateEasy part of TI. I think that would be easiest.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.