Clear Recent History in Firefox

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by caspian, May 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    I updated my firefox installations and the "Clear Recent History" option under tools is now missing. Does anyone know what is going on here? I often open a new tab, close the previous one, and clear recent history with all items checked to prevent tracking when I go to a new login page. This is not good, in my opinion.
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Hi.
    not sure if this helps you at all but i found "clear recent history" in the history section of the FF settings.
     
  3. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    Just upgraded to 21 from 20, I looked, yes it gone from tools, found it under History. As I think about, seems like the perfect place for it.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I haven't upgraded yet but the change not only makes sense, it also makes it easier to get the job done.

    Bo
     
  5. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    As others have said, it's now under History. Also, do you use Ghostery? It can be configured to basically does this in real-time.
     
  6. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Hey guys thanks, found it. Hi Lockbox. Yes I do have Ghostery. It can clear all data after I close everything except for a new tab??
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Last edited: May 30, 2013
  8. Tipsy

    Tipsy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    207
    I am sorry. I know this thread is a little old.

    Do you consider just using "Always use private browsing mode"?
     
  9. zenapp

    zenapp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    I just delete the mozilla folder from

    C:\Users\*************\AppData\Roaming

    and set up prefs.js

    at

    C:\Program Files\Aurora\defaults\profile so it all rebuilds (with bookmarks stored as html)

    hope this helps.

    Z

    ps - Prefs can be modified in a similar way to tor browser bundle prefs to add to security?
     
  10. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Mexico City
    I have the same question

    Thanks
    Camelia
     
  11. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    You should have started a new thread of your own as your query doesn't quite relate to the question asked. :)

    Private Browsing - Browse the web without saving information about the sites you visit -
    http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...without-saving-info?esab=a&s=private browsing

    Unless you have a specific reason not to have your visits to sites and so on saved in the Browser history cache, this setting on a permanent basis would not be recommended.
    Post a new question to the nice folks at Mozilla Support if required.
    http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/new

     
  13. TheCatMan

    TheCatMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Posts:
    327
    Location:
    sweden
    I have also set my FF to never remember history and it works well, ccleaner does not see any cache or sometimes just a 42k small file which I assume is nothing.

    Of course you could run sandboxie also and click n clean firefox addon which can once set up automatic delete any other history in ff:

    http://www.hotcleaner.com/clickclean_firefox.html
     
  14. Techwiz

    Techwiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    539
    Location:
    United States
    I can't seem to remember exactly what it was, but I seem to remember there was a reason I decided against private browsing mode in favor of my own customized configuration. I don't see it listed on the page you provide, I remember it had something to do with data storage in particular. Whatever the case, I seem to have decided a customized configuration of Firefox with disable caches, disabled plugins, etc. was more private. Anyone else remember what exactly they said private browsing mode stored or saved? Clearly the information on this page is updated, but that doesn't mean the previous data storage concern is actually gone. I'm still searching, to see if I can find the exactly wording.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
  15. Tipsy

    Tipsy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Thank you but I was not asking for help. I was giving help to Caspian and others. Or trying to give help.

    Isnt Private Browsing a higher security setting?
    It seems a relevant option for a security board discussion.
    I almost always use Private Browsing as a permanent basis. For most browsing it does not cause too many problems for me.
     
  16. Gitmo East

    Gitmo East Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Posts:
    106
    Dito, I also use private browsing mode exclusively, I see no real issues However I do have occassional hiccups with some sites, I can live with this and seems par for the course when using add ons such as NoScript/RequestPolicy/Ghostery etc,
    I am intrested into what the potential pitfalls are if any when this option is enabled full time.
     
  17. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.