Chromium/Chrome to Integrate Flash Plugin

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Reimer, Mar 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    Now available on the dev channel or the latest Chromium build

    http://googlechromereleases.blogspot.com/2010/03/dev-channel-update_30.html
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    Adding a propriety code to chrome is a terrible idea. why add security holes to chrome?
    if they want to add flash intergration at least use gnash
    if you wish to use multiple browsers you will have to install flash player so why?
    we should say no to silverlight and flash player and say hello to html5 <video>
    google owns youtube so should be pushing forward with html5 <video> and getting rid of flash player asap.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  4. You know, I really don't care if this is convenient for Windows users... It's not *that* convenient seeing how easy it is to install Flash, and IMHO this sort of bundling is just a bad idea. I do hope they have an option to opt out, at least.
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    100% agreed
     
  6. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I'm really not fond of this idea. I understand it, the THEORY is well intentioned, but it could lead to problems.
     
  7. Reimer

    Reimer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Posts:
    217
    I might have been wrong about the Chromium flash integration. It's definitely in Chrome but I use Chromium and the switch doesn't seem to do anything here.
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,013
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    do you have the flash player installed on its own? a few people i know who did said the switch didnt work either.
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    btw i would assume only google chrome has flash player. Chromium is opensource and wouldnt be allowed to have flashplayer intergrated.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.