Chromium/Chrome - save extensions to file

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Sully, Oct 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I was looking for a way to save some extensions to disc so I could take them with me to work on others computers, or just for having on hand for quick installs.

    When using the google repository, I was always installing and did not see an option to save.

    I found that if you navigate to the <chromium profile directory>\user data\temp, when you click "Install" on an extension it downloads the .crx file and also unpacks it. If you click yes to install, it does so then deletes the files. If you click no to install, it deletes these files.

    If you click the initial install, then copy the temp directory, you get both the packed .crx file as well as the unpacked files. You can then drag and drop the .crx file onto chrome and install it, or you can use some of the advanced extensions options.

    Maybe this is old news, but I didn't see it mentioned before. Either way, I would just as soon keep the extensions I use on file. They don't get updated that often anyway from what I have seen.

    Sul.
     
  2. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Why not just copy Extensions folder from your PC?
     
  3. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    Um...

    Have you tried right-clicking the "Install" button and selecting "Save link as"?
     
  4. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Oh, that is funny. ha ha :D Wouldn't that be an obvious thing to miss lol.

    I did try that, along with every other usual method to save to disc. Do you have an option to save it on right click? I tried it in all browsers, but from the google repository it would give me no option to save, no matter what menu option or context menu I tried. I have never encountered this issue before, and it does it on both my home pc and my work pc.

    Is that how you are able to do it?

    Sul.
     
  5. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Mainly because I am helping more and more people I know use it, and it is nice to put a few good extensions on for them. I could I suppose, but would prefer to have the crx files themselves.

    Sul.
     
  6. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    Oddly enough, yes, that worked without any problems for me. I'd try a clean browser profile if I were you and see if that works.

    I'm on 7.0.517.41, btw.
     
  7. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    You were right, removing the profile and creating a new one did the trick. I was using version 8.0.551.0, but have used the profile with different builds. I unzip the build into %programfiles% but leave the profile. Now right clicking on the install button does let me save it.

    All is well that ends well they say. Thanks.

    Sul.

    Edit: I had issues with this in other browsers too. I wonder what the deal is. I just replaced my kmeleon profile with a new one, and it also can save in that method. Too much to do to investigate right now, but it is pretty strange.
     
  8. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    May be you have the option enabled to not ask for download location/ folder each time and that is doing this. Just a wild guess.
     
  10. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Yes, I do have that option on all browsers that can use it. Your wild guess might be correct, but usually it downloads to my chosen directory and does not run/execute by default. Care to expand on your wild and wooly theory? I'm listening.

    Sul.
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Just a blind shot. U can try to enable this option to see if it happens again.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.