Chromium Browser update for Precise 12.04.5 LTS screws up on launch - i.e. doesn't launch

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lotuseclat79, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,102
    This AM I installed Chromium Browser from Ubuntu Software Center and it apparently was updated to version 48.0 from 37.0.

    The problem is that chromium-browser executable no longer launches, instead it gets the following output from attempting to print its new version number with the following command:

    ubuntu@ubuntu:~/Desktop$ chromium-browser -version
    Using PPAPI flash.
    /usr/lib/chromium-browser/chromium-browser: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.18' not found (required by /usr/lib/chromium-browser/chromium-browser)
    /usr/lib/chromium-browser/chromium-browser: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.18' not found (required by /usr/lib/chromium-browser/libs/libnet.so)
    /usr/lib/chromium-browser/chromium-browser: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.19' not found (required by /usr/lib/chromium-browser/libs/libskia.so)

    Anyone know how to fix thiso_O

    -- Tom
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2016
  2. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,102
    Using Synaptic Package Manager with Force Package version fixed the problem. Not that I really want to downgrade, but until the problem is fixed I will stay with what works vs what doesn't.

    -- Tom
     
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    newer google chrome and forks are no longer available for linux x86 and in special ubuntu 12.04 lts since march
    https://groups.google.com/a/chromium.org/forum/message/raw?msg=chromium-dev/FoE6sL-p6oU/mVlwyh02AgAJ
    similar for opera
    https://www.opera.com/blogs/desktop/2016/02/initial-opera-developer-37-release/
     
  4. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Doesn't the PPA maintainer provide a new libc6?

    You could try backporting a newer libc6 to Precise. It's not recommended, but you should be fine as long as the backporting process succeeds.

    Or, if you don't want to take the risks, you could install everything into a chroot.
     
Loading...