Chromebook RAM?

Discussion in 'hardware' started by dogbite, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    Thinking to get in a short time a Chromebook. I was also considering an HP Stream, supposed to be a Chromebook competitor but I am sick of Windows.
    The must have is a 13.3 or 14" display, that means that basically I am looking just at Toshiba and HP. I know Acer makes 13.3 as well, but from what I read around I would prefer an Intel chip vs ARM.

    I might install Crouton but I am not sure yet.
    Based on your experience, is 2GB enough RAM or should I go straight to the 4GB? Well, I know 4 is better than 2 but here in EU the price gap is quite important and also it's easier to find a 2GB than a 4GB model.
     
  2. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    @dogbite I bought a Toshiba Chromebook 2. Intel based chip with 2GB Ram and 13.3" screen. To be honest, having 6 tabs open in chrome for general browsing, 1 of which is watching you tube, and writing a word Doc, you will pretty much use that 2 GB of RAM. However Chrome OS is very efficient in RAM and disables the RAM usage in the tabs you are not viewing or ones that are static. With all these processes i have yet to see a stutter in youtube. If this is the max you will be doing at any given one time, 2GB is sufficient. Toshiba's Screen is not full 1080 Resolution, so if you decide to purchase one with full 1080 4 GB is recommended.

    Having said this, hold of for a bit longer if you can, the next generation chromebooks are due to be released soon, with better battery, RAM, CPU and screens.

    regards.
     
  3. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    I can hold on, but soon means within weeks or months? Thanks
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    For multitasking with videos, crouton, etc. 4GB is better. Chrome OS will boot in 64-bit instead of 32-bit mode though, which wouldn't make much of a difference.
     
  5. Malwar

    Malwar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    271
    Location:
    USA
  6. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    15 it's too big. I want a always carry-on item, max 14".
    Actually what surprises me is that all new HP 14 have just 2GB. I could find some 4GB but they seem older.
     
  7. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    I think 15.6" is too big as well. As Malwar said, March, April release for new Chromebooks and Broadwell processors will be very good in terms of battery life CPu and GPu performance. So i advise to hold off till then.

    I wouldnt say older but i noticed some Chromebooks of the same brand and make focus on either performance or battery life. Not to say they dont have both. Toshiba for example in the same series had Intel and Arm processors with either 2 GB or 4GB.

    I think that chromebook specification baselines are yet to be established. Well maybe the case for early/current generation chromebooks as the market was still relatively new.

    These latest ones, will have no such issues by the look of it. 4GB will be norm as the parts specification improves for the chromebook. CPU and GPU performance for HD displays will need 4GB once they become mainstream in the chromebook product lines as this tech will cost less eventually.

    regards.
     
  8. Malwar

    Malwar Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    271
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah I agree it is too big I was just thinking dogbite wanted to go to 14 because it was the biggest and thought dogbite might have wanted to know there is a bigger one coming with better processor etc. and yeah I agree I think dogbite should wait
     
  9. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    just pulled the trigger for an amazon warehouse deal HP 14", 4GB RAM, Celeron.
    I am going to get it beg next week. I am really excited.
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    If you have any other questions, feel free to ask. As you can see from my sig, I own them all lol.
     
  11. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    Glad you went with 4GB. Mine is 2GB and damn, I wish I have more.
     
  12. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    Has anyone succeeded in installing and using OpenVPN?
    I've read around it's not really easy.
     
  13. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    Ok started playing with it. First was to set-up a VPN. OpenVPN does not seem an option now, because for the moment I do not want to run into Developer Mode and install Crouton.
    PIA works with L2TP but connection is not very stable, it goes down frequently (and I think it's due to PIA, not to Chromebook because I had the same problem with the Iphone).
    So, I tried to install and run OpenVPN for Android. Well, the side-installation went well but no way to have it working.

    Beside this story, I am very happy so far. I mean, it boots in less than 5 seconds...my PC with Ubuntu and SSD and 16GB RAM still takes about 10 seconds..
    Now, I want to try to use it more when off-line, to see what it can do.
     
Loading...