Chrome won't do Word Mojo

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Page42, Sep 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I need someone with Chrome to try to access this online game...

    http://zone.msn.com/en/wordmojo/default.htm

    I can access it okay with IE8, but not Chrome14, and it makes no diff if I'm running Chrome in SBIE or not.

    When I try to play that game in Chrome, I get these two messages:

    "Your browser or operating system does not meet the minimum requirements to play on MSN Games. You may be able to download games for offline play; however, the online games can be played only with Internet Explorer version 7 or later, and Windows XP or later. Additionally, some games require the Adobe Flash Player version 10.0 or later."

    and...

    "This game uses Active X controls or Java and can't be viewed in Firefox. Many games on the MSN Games site can be played using Firefox. To view a list of the top games you can play using Firefox, click here."


    (Note the reference to Firefox, which I don't run and don't even have on my machine.)

    FYI, I have Java version 1.6.0_26 and per the JavaTester.org site, "This web browser can indeed run Java applets".

    Just let me know if you can access that game in Chrome, and if not, how come?

    PS - I think I already have an answer, but I would like to open the question up to others! ;)
     
  2. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Not on my windows machine right now but I should be soon. I'll let you know.
     
  3. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i get the same mesage with Chrome.

    on IE9 it says it's missing Java, then it was downloading Flash.

    i terminated IE9.
    i'm allergic to Java, and i don't have Flash installed for IE9. ;)
    it's my banking browser.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Same with Firefox 6. IE Tab works for some strange reason, although it's definitely using Java.
     
  5. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    "This game uses Active X controls or Java and can't be viewed in Firefox. Many games on the MSN Games site can be played using Firefox. To view a list of the top games you can play using Firefox, click here."

    Well there we go. It uses Active X I guess.
     
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I was hoping that maybe Chrome would have bundled Active X the same way it bundles Adobe Flash Player... :)
     
  7. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    ActiveX is a technology in IE.

    Google Chrome uses Netscape Plugin API. IE uses ActiveX.

    I don't see why the game wouldn't play in other browsers? It seems that what's required is Java, correct? If so, I don't see why it wouldn't work? Unless, it was deliberately coded that way, so that users have to use IE?

    Example: If I head over to Secunia's web site and run a scan, then it will either use the plugin in Chrome or the activex in IE.

    Why would this game be any different? o_O
     
  8. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    It's not going to work on that particular game because it requires Active-X. The games on the website require either Active-X or Java, depending on the game. Word Mojo just happens to use Active-X. No mystery involved here, simply MS being MS.
     
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Thanks you guys for helping me with Word Mojo.
    I guess I just need to open IE8 when I want to partake.
    I appreciate the blinking flashlights that continue to shine. :)
     
  10. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Just don't get lost often, the battery is low :D
     
  11. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    That is not unheard of.
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    FWIW I sent a bug report to Chrome, in case there is something they can do.
    From what I am gathering here, it looks like the game needs Active X and Chrome can't duplicate or use that technology.
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Filling a bug report was a good idea. It will give us a definitive answer.
     
  14. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    But how will we get that answer?
    They don't do replies, right?
     
  15. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    What is the bug number?
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Crap. I didn't get one... or didn't write it down.
    Is there any way to check?
    Too late, right? :oops:
     
  17. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    IMO,
    ActiveX is unique to MS Windows.
    Other browsers, even those running on MS Windows platform, did not and will not adopt ActiveX (IMO, remember).
    Filing a bug request is physically possible by anyone with a Google account but will most likely be infructuous.
    If other platforms continue to gain popularity, ActiveX may become "less and less mandatory" as people wake up to the changing market place.
     
  18. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    WTG! ;)
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    What would I have done with the bug report number?
    Please advise.
    I see now that I should have paid attention to the info in the url location.... chrome://bugreport/#1
    I did not know that when I submitted that initial report.
     
  20. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    You could simply google search the bug based on what you wrote.

    Anyways, if it's Active X there will be no solution. If it's Java who knows.
     
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    How does it use ActiveX? When I played it, the Java icon appeared and notified me.
     
  22. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    When I google "Word Mojo bug report", this thread pops up.
     
  23. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    You played it in Chrome?
     
  24. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Firefox with IE Tab. Chrome version might work as well.
     
  25. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    So far, J_L, no one has played that game in Chrome.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.