Chrome Stable Channel Update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Page42, Nov 12, 2013.

  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,022
    Some of the replies on that thread are quite recent so maybe the information is still relevant.
     
  2. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Mexico
    Well yes, there are some recent post there but I repeat: I don't see that "File System" folder in my 5 Chrome's profiles (yet?).
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
    I can see the directory and each month 3-4 subdirectories are created (size: 227 bytes)
     
  4. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
    Google Chrome 64.0.3282.140 Stable Offline Installers

    Consumer version
    Code:
    x64 (46.2 MB)
    https://redirector.gvt1.com/edgedl/release2/chrome/APv3bsXjFWWp_64.0.3282.140/64.0.3282.140_chrome_installer.exe
    x86 (45.8 MB)
    https://redirector.gvt1.com/edgedl/release2/chrome/AI04unA_MCO6_64.0.3282.140/64.0.3282.140_chrome_installer.exe
    
    Enterprise version (msi installers)
    Code:
    x64 (48.1 MB)
    https://dl.google.com/dl/chrome/install/googlechromestandaloneenterprise64.msi
    x86 (47.6 MB)
    https://dl.google.com/dl/chrome/install/googlechromestandaloneenterprise.msi
    
    Linux
    Code:
    x64 (49.2 MB)
    https://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb
    x86 (49.2 MB)
    https://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_x86_64.rpm
    
    Mac
    Code:
    (64,7 MB)
    https://dl.google.com/chrome/mac/stable/GGRO/googlechrome.dmg
    
    Chrome Cleanup Tool
    Code:
    (3.74 MB)
    https://dl.google.com/dl/softwareremovaltool/free-range/win/chrome_cleanup_tool.exe
    
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    26,988
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,513
    thanks @mood & @JRViejo
    in this update they have again disable the possiblity to export password
    it was present in 64.0.3282.119, it's gone in 64.0.3282.140:(o_O
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
    There two new flags in Chrome 64 (the old one was removed: #password-import-export)
    Code:
    chrome://flags/#password-export
    chrome://flags/#password-import
    Maybe try to set these to enabled and look if it changes anthing :cautious:
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,513
    Hi
    thank you so much , enabled both and now i can export and import from preference:thumb::)
    thank Mood!
     
  9. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
    Good to hear :thumb:
     
  10. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    A new Adobe Flash Player update 28.0.0.161 is available via components.

    Thanks to all participants for keeping this thread very active and a great source of Chrome update-related info!
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,720
    Location:
    USA
    This isn't showing yet on the Adobe site. How do you install "via components"?
     
  12. lofac

    lofac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    101
    Location:
    .
    In chrome://components you can check for updates.
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,720
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks! Is it typical that flash updates are made available here before the Adobe website?

    Edit: When I checked in "components" it was already updated to 161 :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2018
  14. lofac

    lofac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    101
    Location:
    .
    Chrome integrates its version of flash player so the user doesn't have to manually install or update.
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,720
    Location:
    USA
    Great, thanks!
     
  16. lofac

    lofac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    101
    Location:
    .
    You're welcome :thumb:
     
  17. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    875
    But when does Chrome do its updating of components? Isn't it integrated into the general Chrome releases/updates, in which case we might not get it automatically for another couple weeks?
     
  18. lofac

    lofac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    101
    Location:
    .
    It should handle these updates as it does for the browser itself through scheduled tasks. It does not ask for user permissions as it handle those silently in the background.
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I choose not to allow Chrome to update automatically. When I manually update Chrome, Adobe Flash Player is not updated, and I use the components method of updating. Not every Chrome update coincides with a FP update. I always check via components to see if a FP update is available as well, and mention it here in this thread if it is.
     
  20. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    26,988
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  21. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
    There is a flag to enable it ("Always mark HTTP as actively dangerous") in current versions
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2018
  22. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Mexico
    I expect that feature keeps its flag to let user to decide. I just want to disable as soon it came enabled as default cause I not want Chrome to give lots of false positives. I rather want to have absolute control over that decisions.
     
  23. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,600
    Location:
    USA
    It still seems unnecessary in all cases. Some sites do not need to be encrypted. If you aren't entering anything, it is a waste of resources.
     
  24. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    26,988
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Agree 100%. :thumb:
     
  25. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Mexico
    The stable channel has been updated to 64.0.3282.167
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.