Chrome Releases Faster, More Stable 64-Bit Builds for Windows

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Dragon1952, Jun 3, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,092
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,060
    Nice to hear. I will certainly install it when it reaches stable release.
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    It's about time.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Good to know, now how to update is the question.
     
  5. WalterWolf

    WalterWolf Guest

    I installed dev today,good for now.A lot faster then x32 :)
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Do you need to uninstall other versions of Chrome? If not, did it overwrite your previous 32-bit installation or did it install as a separate program?
     
  7. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Does it include theirs regularly updated 64-bit flash player, sandboxed of course?
     
  8. WalterWolf

    WalterWolf Guest

    I removed x32 after that i installed x64.
     
  9. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
      • Speed: 64-bit allows us to take advantage of the latest processor and compiler optimizations, a more modern instruction set, and a calling convention that allows more function parameters to be passed quickly by registers. As a result, speed is improved, especially in graphics and multimedia content, where we see an average 25% improvement in performance.P
      • Security: With Chrome able to take advantage of the latest OS features such asHigh Entropy ASLR on Windows 8, security is improved on 64-bit platforms as well. Those extra bits also help us better defend against exploitation techniques such as JIT spraying, and improve the effectiveness of our existing security defense features like heap partitioning.P
      • Stability: Finally, we've observed a marked increase in stability for 64-bit Chrome over 32-bit Chrome. In particular, crash rates for the the renderer process (i.e. web content process) are almost half that of 32-bit Chrome
    more built-in security is always good.
    ----
    same here.
    i installed the Devs channel as it is more stable than the Canary channel.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2014
  10. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
    Location:
    Germany
    You can install Dev over the top, no uninstallation required, it uses the same profile as stable and beta. Canary uses its own profile and can be installed next to the stable version. Sandboxed plugins should be included as well.
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Yeah, I read that. But does it install as a separate program or overwite current installation? I don't want to keep 2 versions of Chrome or lose my profile.
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Not bad for Chrome. Definitely fast.
     
  13. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i been using the Devs channel release all day and everything works good.
    just as solid as the Stable release so far.
     
  14. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    I've been playing around with Dev and it certainly appears to be stable (as well as fast). Stupid question, perhaps, but why does it install in the (x86) directory? At least it did in my case.
     
  15. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    mine did as well.
    weird! o_O
     
  16. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    263
    mine did this aswell. i think it did this so the user wouldnt lose there data such as bookmarks, extensions etc. BTW this is just a guess. It would interesting to see if the same behavior happens with a clean install
     
  17. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,060
    Did anybody try to run it with Sandboxie? Does it run OK or are there any problems?
     
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    So it overwrites the previous installation? Those data are store separately in "%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data".
     
  19. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Possibly though I had no previous installation and it still put it there. It is definitely 64 bit.
     
  20. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Yes and there are problems (for me anyway).

    Canary build starts in Sandbox but does not work. I got multiple tiny tabs in rows across the screen rather than a single tab view.

    Cheers
     
  21. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Just about damn time. Now we got 64 bit Safari, IE and Chrome. Only stupid Firefox is lagging behind. Oh well I switched to NSA Chrome.
     
  22. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    And Opera...
     
  23. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,060
    Thank you for this info. I hope they will update SBIE to be compatible with Chrome 64 bit also.
     
  24. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,071
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, it overwrites the previous installation. Also be sure to make a backup of your profile folder. After the installation of the developer version your profile folder becomes incompatible with the old version.
     
  25. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    mine was a clean install.
    it still installed to Program Files x86.

    Chrome is already sandboxed.
    so does IE11 with Enhanced Protected Mode.
    no need to use SBIE with Chrome, it's overkill imo.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.