Chrome problems

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by crisarg, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crisarg

    crisarg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Hello!

    Using Prevx with SafeOnline for about 2 months. Everything is very smooth except one very annoying problem with my favorite browser, Chrome. From time to time (depending on usage) I cannot open a new page from bookmarks folder or typing in adress bar. All I get is a blank page. This is happening with all versions of Chrome I've tried (5 and 6). I've created a video below. Is there a fix for this problem?

    -http://www.screencast.com/t/ZjQ0NTkxMjMt-
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2010
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,609
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi crisarg and welcome to the Official Prevx Support Forums!

    I looked at your video and I don't even see the SafeOnline Tab? Can you please uninstall Prevx via Add/Remove and reboot then install a clean version of Prevx With SafeOnline from here: http://info.prevx.com/downloadcsi.asp and after the learning scan install your license key and check Chrome to see if all is OK and report back! Also I'm not sure if Chrome 6 is supported yet so try Version 5 for now! https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1682141&postcount=19

    TIA,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  3. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,525
    Location:
    British Columbia
    TH

    I've reported this issue several times months ago but it just gets ignored. A fresh install makes absolutely "no difference" as i learned first hand when prevx went ahead all by it's lonesome and uninstalled itself :rolleyes: during an update leaving me with nothing but dead shortcuts :rolleyes:

    The tab shows itself for 5-10 minutes and then just disappears until you restart chrome/iron!
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,609
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks for the info as I don't use anything from google ATM because I find there update feature to intrusive when I used Google Earth and it would Auto-Update Google Earth and install Google Chrome and not even ask if I wanted it! And that was the end of the rope for me and Google apps! I use IE8, Firefox and Opera and that's enough for me! The best thing I can suggest to you and the OP is to send a scan log to Prevx with the link to this thread! https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1662381&postcount=1

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you please try downloading the newest beta version from: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=277986 ?

    We've fixed the precise issue you're describing so you should have better luck with an upgrade + reboot :)

    Please let me know your results!
     
  6. crisarg

    crisarg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Hello again,

    It seems the problem is solved (not so much testing although). And I'm using Chrome v6.

    Good job! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.