Chrome Prerendering Question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pandorax, Feb 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    329
    I am using Chrome 17 stable. It has started loading some web pages in the background when i type url. I know that this feature added on new stable. But i didn't check "use instant search" box in options menu. Is it a bug or prerendering works without "instant search" on v17 unlike ex versions of Chrome?

    The thing is, it has started today, and i have been using v17 stable since the beginning!
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,910
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    pandorax, yes, it is a new feature. This Chrome Update Adds Omnibox Prerendering and Scanning Protection article explains how to turn it off.
     
  3. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    329
  4. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Instant search will search your default search engine when you enter something into the url bar.

    Omnibox prerendering is an about:flag that loads a page that you've already visited once you start to revisit it.
     
  5. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    329
    I know. But it wasn't like that before. You had to enable the instant search for omnibox URL prerendering. That's what confused me! I am reading Chrome blog after new releases etc. I thought "enabling instant search" was necessary.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,910
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    pandorax, you're welcome! Take care.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.