Chrome not working with sandboxie

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Walkers23, Jul 26, 2020.

1. Walkers23

Walkers23 Registered Member

I have installed Sandboxie 5.33.6 on my windows 7 PC, I can't seem to use google chrome with Sandboxie but other browsers such as FireFox and IE are working with it.

I'm not sure, but it might be my antivirus because before I was using Avast and google chrome was working with Sandboxie, but I changed my antivirus recently to Eset and chrome stopped working with Sandboxie.

These are the error messages that I am getting:
    https://ibb.co/SVQ3cqy
    Any fix to this?

2. Brummelchen

Brummelchen Registered Member

3. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

I have been using Sandboxie for 10+ years, and have been running ESET NOD32 on a couple Windows 7 machines along with SBIE for 8 of those years, so hopefully you know that it is a standard combination, and you discover the correct configuration. At the very least, make sure in the Sandboxie Contol window to select Configure|Software Compatability|ESET. Also (and this is probably too obvious for me to be mentioning), make sure that [chrome.exe] is showing under Forced Programs. Good luck.

4. Walkers23

5. Walkers23

Hello, I have just tried your suggestion, but still no luck getting chrome to work. I even added chrome and Sandboxie to my exception list on Eset.

6. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

Not a good idea to exclude Chrome in ESET. FWIW, I am running ESET without any exclusions, so I know that is not necessary. Wait until member bo elam shows up. Bo knows these things. ;)

7. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

Did you get it working, Walkers23?

8. Walkers23

Unfortunately, I did not get it to work. I have installed Microsoft Edge as an alternative to Chrome and I still get the same error messages, as of right now I'm just messing around with ESET settings to try and fix this issue.