Chrome not working with sandboxie

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Walkers23, Jul 26, 2020.

  1. Walkers23

    Walkers23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    I have installed Sandboxie 5.33.6 on my windows 7 PC, I can't seem to use google chrome with Sandboxie but other browsers such as FireFox and IE are working with it.

    I'm not sure, but it might be my antivirus because before I was using Avast and google chrome was working with Sandboxie, but I changed my antivirus recently to Eset and chrome stopped working with Sandboxie.

    These are the error messages that I am getting:
    https://ibb.co/SVQ3cqy
    Any fix to this?
     
  2. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,880
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,678
    Location:
    USA
    I have been using Sandboxie for 10+ years, and have been running ESET NOD32 on a couple Windows 7 machines along with SBIE for 8 of those years, so hopefully you know that it is a standard combination, and you discover the correct configuration. At the very least, make sure in the Sandboxie Contol window to select Configure|Software Compatability|ESET. Also (and this is probably too obvious for me to be mentioning), make sure that [chrome.exe] is showing under Forced Programs. Good luck.
     
  4. Walkers23

    Walkers23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
  5. Walkers23

    Walkers23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    Hello, I have just tried your suggestion, but still no luck getting chrome to work. I even added chrome and Sandboxie to my exception list on Eset.
     
  6. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,678
    Location:
    USA
    Not a good idea to exclude Chrome in ESET. FWIW, I am running ESET without any exclusions, so I know that is not necessary. Wait until member bo elam shows up. Bo knows these things. ;)
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,678
    Location:
    USA
    Did you get it working, Walkers23?
     
  8. Walkers23

    Walkers23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    Unfortunately, I did not get it to work. I have installed Microsoft Edge as an alternative to Chrome and I still get the same error messages, as of right now I'm just messing around with ESET settings to try and fix this issue.
     
  9. Walkers23

    Walkers23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    I just found out if I disabled ESET HIPS and restart my PC, I could start Chrome with Sandboxie without any problems. Now I know it`s something to do Chrome/Sandboxie and ESET HIPS. I don't want to use Chrome with Sandboxie while ESET HIPS setting is disabled. I was wondering if you might know a solution to this?
     
  10. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,678
    Location:
    USA
    I am sorry, I do not have any proposed solutions for you beyond what I have already stated... which isn't much, I know. I will say that personally, I have always ranked Sandboxie as my most crucial security program, and if I came across another program that I could not get to coexist with it, I would always choose to keep Sandboxie, even if it meant removing and not using the the other program. That has always been my method, for at least the last 10+ years as a Sandboxie user.

    In your particular case, I would keep SBIE, keep Chrome, and run ESET with HIPS disabled, or configured so as to run correctly with SBIE, if/when you eventually figure it out. I understand it probably doesn't help you to know this, but I currently run those three programs together (with HIPS enabled) on the same OS that you are running, and I do that on two computers.

    One more shot... I see I have ESET HIPS filtering set at Automatic (not Smart, Interactive, Policy-based or Learning). Not sure if that is default.

    And to go back to a previous suggestion, if you tried configuring Sandboxie with ESET software compatibility enabled, and things aren't running right, you can always try removing that compatibility and see if that works.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.