Chrome 30 not being protected.

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by kjdemuth, Nov 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Is anyone else noticing that Chrome 30 in 8.0.4.24 is not being protected? I have it under identity protection and it says chrome in it's proper folder. I'm not getting the padlock nor the protected by identity when scrolling over the WSA icon. Is this a known issue or something new?
     
  2. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Nope, no issue here with Chrome 30... WSA 8.0.4.24 works fine :)
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Are you sure it's not being block by your other security software?

    TH
     
  4. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Disregard. I was being stupid. I didn't reboot after installing chrome. Apparently it needs to reboot. Now it's working fine. Thanks for the assistance.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to hear! ;)

    Daniel
     
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    That I'm stupid? ;)
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's besides the point if it doesn't work Reboot. LOL

    Daniel ;)
     
  8. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,092
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Since the last update to Chrome the internet history file is much smaller. I uncheck internet history in CCleaner for Chrome. After a few weeks it gets up to about 30 MB. Now it is at about 3,000 KB after a few weeks.
     
  9. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    Where is this padlock icon and "protected by", I have never seen it and I use Chrome 30 as well.
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    You should have a little yellow padlock on the WSA icon in your task bar. It should also say this foreground window protected by identity shield.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Have a look here to make sure Chrome is listed and under Protected if not use the Add Application and go into the Chrome directory and add the Chrome.exe. Also note some are having issues because at one time Chrome use to install in the AppData section and now it installs in Program Files so make sure it's in the Programs Files maybe need to do a clean reinstall of Chrome to force into Program Files.

    HTH,

    Daniel
     
  12. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    Chrome is listed under there, as well as Firefox.

    I still do not see this yellow padlock showing that the foreground window is protected (obviously with Chrome in the foreground).

    Not too worried about it though.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Try this test! Open your Browser maximized click somewhere in the Browser window Padlock should be there now click somewhere on the system Taskbar/Tray Padlock will disappear is that how you see it? If not please do a clean reinstall. Make sure you have a copy of your keycode and download a fresh installer [FONT=&quot][/FONT]Here then Uninstall Reboot and install with the new installer and let it finish it's install scan and Reboot again open your Browsers and close them go see if there listed under protected and try the test again and please reply back!

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  14. bandaid

    bandaid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    USA
    Triple Helix,

    I have had difficulty with google chrome working with the identity shield in the past so I re-installed google chrome. I now have this listed under application protection:

    chrome.exe in c:\program files\google\chrome\application

    Is that how it should be listed? Thanks.
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's looks like in the right Directory and not in Appdata. ;)

    Daniel
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.