Chrome 12 Stable

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by moontan, Jun 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    has just been released earlier today.

    here are some of the changes:

    more here:
    http://liliputing.com/2011/06/google-cranks-it-up-to-12-with-latest-chrome-web-browser.html
     
  2. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Thank you for the update, this version was really good! :thumb:
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Good stuff, this means 14 should be on portableapps soon :p
     
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    12 Stable is at already portableapps.com :)
     
  5. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Been on 12 for a while. It's pretty great. Same speed as 10 for the most part.
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    I really do wonder what Google will do about Chrome's versioning years from now.
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    They're expected to hit 17 by the end of the year.
     
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
  9. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Is that important in any way at all?
     
  10. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Well, high numbers aren't aesthetically or pronunciationally pleasing.
     
  11. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Chrome 80

    meh I can handle that haha
     
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    How about Chrome 127? It's just I think they're using whole versions for too little changes.
     
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Chrome versions are going too fast :D
    But who cares, i love how it's improving quickly and that's what matters to me :D :thumb: :thumb:
     
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
    The version number doesn't matter at all and has no bearing on anything. As long as it works, that's all I care about. :)
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I agree, but it takes a little getting used to. It has been the norm in the software industry for whole numbers to imply significant changes and improvements in a program, usually with UI changes so it's really obvious that something different is going on. When Google first started bumping the version number on Chrome I thought they were grandstanding, but I think now it's clear the version number no longer means what it used to and we should forget about it. Kind of reminds me of Nvidia's geforce drivers, which are up to version 275 LOL!
     
  16. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Also agree, especially since Chrome auto-updates you really don't need to worry about version number (and I would guess the typical average computer user has no idea what version of Chrome they are running and probably don't care).
     
  17. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    What really freaks me out is that, most of times Google really makes it difficult to just extract contents from the installer. I remember a few versions back I could extract a file chrome.7z from the installer, and then do whatever I want with it.

    But, now I can't. Not without using univeral extractor. Not even with Universal Extractor. :mad:

    Is it really that hard to make things... how to put it... simple? o_O Are they hiding super secrets o_O :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
  18. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I doubt it's about secrets. They might be trying to stop malware from manipulating the installer. They're also undergoing a huge remake of their installer to try to shrink it.
     
  19. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Or Google is doing what it does best, being a PITA. Still, v12 intrigues me, I might give it a go now that it's stable.
     
  20. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Well, I don't know what it is, but I know I also couldn't install it inside Sandboxie either. o_O

    I could initiate the installer in Sandboxie, with administrator rights, but then the installer complains it won't install with administrator rights. Seriously, WTF? Without administrator rights it won't start, with all permissions given to it, unless there was some other file I missed, despite the fact it only extracted an extention-less file named 102~, and nothing else, at all; with administrator rights it starts, but it complains about it.

    Was anyone able to install it o_O

    -edit-

    I tried installing it using the cmd line with the parameter --systemlevel, so that it would install to %ProgramFiles%, and request for administrator privileges, and it initiates, but it fails to install Google Update, and the installer won't proceed.

    P.S: But, this time I got the sucker! :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011
  21. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    @ m00nbl00d:

    why don't you try the portable version?
     
  22. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Oh... I don't personally use Google Chrome. I use Chromium. But, I also like to keep Google Chrome, for whatever reason. Just not something packaged by third-parties. I prefer to have my own "portable" version. Just a thing of my own.

    But, I found it challenging this time... :D
     
  23. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I just copy the latest Chromium .zip file, extract it, delete my current Chromium program dir, and put the new one in its place. I do it from time to time unless there seems to be an issue with the latest one I am using, which has only happened a couple times in the last year.

    Sul.
     
  24. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,946
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  25. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,946
    Location:
    U.S.A.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.