Christmas at Opera Labs: 64-bit Opera, and out-of-process plug-ins

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by guest, Dec 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guest

    guest Guest

    Taken from: http://dev.opera.com/articles/view/64-bit-opera-and-out-of-process-plug-ins/

     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2012
  2. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Now that Chrome is the only browser without 64bit support maybe they'll finally prioritize it.
     
  3. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Thanks guest. I was reading about this on another forum. Glad to see Opera go 64-bit.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    64-bit is the future; actually you can use them right now if you don't mind betas.
     
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I would like to try Opera 64 bit, but I will wait until it is out of beta. In fact, I may wait longer than that.
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I didn't think that they had any plans for 64 bit Chrome. I'll believe 64 bit Firefox when I see it.
     
  7. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Good idea, the one from labs is actually pre-alpha. No wonder I had some problems.
     
  8. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    64 bit Firefox is usually confined to the "Nightly" builds. I used v10 in fact and it worked rather well.
     
  9. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    I currently use Waterfox 64-bit and it works fine.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Pre-alpha? Wow, that's some test-piloting! ;)
     
  11. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Sounds good, I'm still waiting for the RC though. I can wait, only one of my computers is 64 bit anyway LOL!
     
  12. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Let's wait a little bit, until it becomes stable. ;)
    There is no rush... :cool:
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    64bit Chrome is in the works, that's confirmed. It's already available on linux.

    64bit Firefox for Windows has been out for months, just not officially supported.
     
  14. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I had a feeling that there was a Linux version.

    Yes, but I'll wait until the official version is released. What do you reckon happens when I download a 64 bit browser onto a computer that has the 32 bit version already on it?

    Would the 64 bit appropriate any of the profile folder/s so that it would keep existing (originally 32 bit) bookmarks etc? A bit like IE 9, which has both versions on Windows 64 bit, but obviously share folders as bookmarks inter alia are also shared.
     
  15. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    They would probably both install side by side and share the appdata/ profile folder.
     
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK thanks. I reckoned as much. I'm not sure how many of the extensions that could be used on 64 bit.
     
  17. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    They should all work on 64bit. There might be some issues with large numbers/ longs.
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    That's not the case with IE 9, some extensions like Ghostery have to be ported for 64 bit. I don't use Ghostery on 64 bit btw. I think that some spellcheckers (ieSpell?) wouldn't work in 64 bit either.

    Not sure what you mean.
     
  19. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Extensions are mostly just Javascript. They shouldn't have to be changed at all, the compiler (V8, Tampermonkey, Trident, etc) will handle that.

    Moving from 32bit to 64bit might have issues if the Javascript deals with large numbers or variable type longs.

    If it's using something other than Javascript it might have to be converted and I guess there could be other incompatibilities. I would think for the most part they don't need any changes though.
     
  20. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK. I'm sure the extension devs are working on this (hopefully).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.