chkdsk & SpinRite

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by DasFox, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

I'm studying for my A+ and I have Mike Meyers book, and in it he mentions for maintenance to use chkdsk once a week.

Personally I've never used chkdsk unless I felt there was a reason valid enough to use it, but of course drives can die out of the blue...

Also he mentions the ECC in drives not always working and marking back sectors and using SpinRite as another tool that should be used to help identify any problems here that the hard drive fails to see, and mark the sectors that the drives ECC fails to do...

What are some thought here on using chkdsk on a regular basis for maintenance?

Also I'm wondering if Mike is mentioning SpinRite, then should all us geeks and techs have this in our supply of tools to use, no geek should be without it?

THANKS

Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  2. Sully

Sully Registered Member

I like spinrite. Helped me determine faulty drives when aruging for an RMA many times. You should also check out MHDD, although it is free it is perhaps a little more complex to use. But it does some neat stuff.

Sul.

3. Rico

Rico Registered Member

Hello DasFox,

CHKDSK & Spinrite are great additions to the old toolbox. I don't use Spinrite that often, but its there if i need it, to recover from some impending disaster.

I use CHKDSK /r from windows disc at its 'repair' console.

Take Care
    Rico

4. InfinityAz

InfinityAz Registered Member

I also like Spinrite but it can be very drive intensive. I run it on all my drives once every 6 months as preventative maintenance.

I run chkdsk once a month on all drives or as needed.

5. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member