Changing My Printing Setup

Discussion in 'hardware' started by LenC, Jun 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

LenC Registered Member

I have been plugging along for many years with an HP 6P laserjet printer, and a cheap color inkjet all-in-one. The inkjet died so I am rethinking my setup.

This is what I do...

- I use software for my business (taxprep) that requires a laserjet printer. I don't print all that much - maybe 1,000 pages per month in tax season.

- I scan in documents frequently and I really need an automatic document feeder on the scanner.

- I occasionally print in color on the all-in-one.

- I rarely use the fax feature of the all-in-one.

So, I was thinking about a new color laser all-in-one to replace both printers - something like the Hewlett Packard LaserJet Pro 100 Color MFP M175nw. My alternatives would be to...

- buy a b/w laserjet printer, and another inexpensive injet all-in-one for scanning, color printing and faxing, or

- keep limping along with my 6P, and just buy the new inkjet all-in-one

Customer reviews of the M175NW (and other all-in-one laserjets) are mixed. People complain about slow printing and excessive delay for first page. So I'm leary about the laserjet all-in-one concept.

So I'm just not sure how to go on this. Any comments, suggestions, or product recommendations would be appreciated.

One other question - how does wireless capability affect a printer or all-in-one? Is it difficult to set up? Does it degrade print speed?

Thanks,
    Len

2. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member

Slow compared to what? No, they are not quick, but they may be fast enough for you - except maybe on April 14th!

And the first page after the device has been idle for awhile always takes longer. But if you send 10 print jobs, only the first job will have the long delay on the first page. This is common for printers and MFP (multifunction printing devices).