change in Autostart registry

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by tutankamon, Jul 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi all,
    I keep getting this message "NOTICE there has been achange in the autostart registry, etc etc, but it does not tell me what has changed!! I have updated TDS3, Norton system works, wormguard, spyware blaster, spywaregaurd, spybot S & D, Ad aware, I have run every check with all of my programs, but nothing is being reported. Everything seems o.k. So why do I get this message EVERY time I startup? Telling me that something has changed in my autostart registry, but not telling me what has changed, is a bit like being told that there is a terrorist living in your street, but not telling you who it is, or where he or she lives, frightening, but not helpful. Any ideas?
     
  2. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Yeah that`s a pain in the a$$. YOu would think it would be hi- lighted at least. It usually happens when you update a new program or simular. If you know what runs on your machine then it`s not to bad but you still have to go through every bit of the log to see if anything doesn`t belong. Hope they fix this in the new one.
     
  3. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi beetlejuice69, thanks for the reply, yes I expect to get this message when I have installed / uninstalled a program, but not EVERY time I startup!! If I knew what was in my autostart registry before, then I could spot any changes, but I dont. If TDS3 has noticed a change, it must be comparing the `old` registry with the `new` and has noticed a difference, so why can it not say what the difference is??
     
  4. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Tut,

    Yes, I get that message too every time.
    I have to admit that I pay no attention to it....

    I think that DCS once said that it would be improved in a next version of TDS; but I am not completely sure whether I remember me that right.
     
  5. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi FanJ,
    I`m glad to know it is not just me getting this message EVERY time, but now I know that you, and maybe others are getting it too, I feel easier. As you say lets hope that TDS4 highlights any changes in ANYTHING that it finds different, not just the Autostart registry
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi Tut,

    I just saw that you have RegProt from DCS.
    So you have a nice tool for watching your registry ! ;)

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  7. Dieter Bressem

    Dieter Bressem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    to check the autostart-entries I use the freewaretoool CODESTUFF STARTER.

    Downloadlink: www.codestuff.mirrorz.com

    Easy to use. If TDS shows me that something has changed I start this tool.
    You also can create new entries, delete them or temporaliy deactivate them.

    For me a must have. I installed Regdefend, but this one can show you all Autostart entries at once.

    Dieter
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    I also like ProcX and AutoStartViewer.

    For the changed autostart i noticed it happens often when something started the QuickTime player and that annoying thing adds itself to the autostart all time again, from where i delete it as often again too. So warning for the new addition and warning next time for the deletion.
    So it can be something innocent like that.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2005
  9. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi all,
    I use DCS Autostartviewer but as I said before, I cannot remember what was in the startup list before. So when I am told that something has changed , I dont know what has changed!! Anyway, I have Reg Protector, and the Exec Protection in TDS3 is installed, so I assume that everything is o.k. I have downloaded STARTER as recommended, as an extra tool, thanks for the link. I am looking forward to TDS4 and all my problems will be solved! :)
     
  10. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    I always had a problem with the TDS 3 autostart alerts. I could never find out what it was that changed which made the alert pretty useless. Why on earth put such an option there when it doesn't tell you what actually started or changed? It just wasn't well thought out and given the time that TDS 3 has been out it's a real shame that they haven't sought to fix this problem.

    It's only common sense that TDS 3 should be able to show what changed in registry otherwise there's simply no point in having the alerts.

    Dave
     
  11. GPF

    GPF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Let me justadd my agreement to that.

    I can't say I get "constant" alerts, usually it's obvious that I've updated or added something, but as my memory gets steadily worse I rely more on reminders, if TDS4 could actually point to *what* had changed I'd be happier . . .
     
  12. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi all, I think that we are all in agreement, TDS4 MUST highlight any changes that it finds!! Otherwise, what is the point?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.