Change Hard drive

Discussion in 'hardware' started by farmboy, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. farmboy

    farmboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    I have a HP Pavilion a1110n. It came with a Samsung SP1604N hard drive. I would like to replace it with a Samsung SP1614N.They are both 160gb, I think the big difference is the SP1604N has a 2mb buffer and the SP1614N has a 8mb buffer. Will I have to change any thing in the bios or install any drivers, or will it just work? The SP1614N is used and I have no documentation. Thanks.
     
  2. pugmug

    pugmug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    413
  3. farmboy

    farmboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks for the fast reply. The SP1604N I think is about to go and I have the Sp1614N. I can restore a image of the sp1604n to the sp1614n and get a little more life out of the old computer. No gains just a little more life. Restoring the complete hard drive image is no problem.
     
  4. pugmug

    pugmug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    413
    Then it may work or may not as the o/s will read a different hard drive from your image backup.
     
  5. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    It will work, changing hard drives is the easiest thing to do.

    Alot of it depends on what operating system you have and what imaging software you use.

    If you are using vista you might need the vista installation dvd to run a repair if the new drive won't boot.(simple 2 minute fix)
    With xp, if the new drive hangs/or reboots at the logon screen. You will have to change the partition ID drive letter.

    That's the worst problems you will encounter both easily fix, sometimes your new drive will boot up perfectly the first time. I always plan for the worst.
     
  6. farmboy

    farmboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Jonyjoe81

    I am running XP sp2 and using Acronis True Image 11 from the CD.
    When I restore a hard drive, I restore the complete drive, both partitions and MBR at one time. So far the restores boot every time. My main concern was if I was going to have to change some values in the bios so it would recognize the different drive. Or would it do it automatically, I wouldn’t no what to change them too. I guess the best way to find out is to give it a shot. Thanks.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.