CentOS 6.1 released

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by mack_guy911, Dec 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  2. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I got the Live CD 32bit version just a few minutes ago. I guess the release of Red Hat 6.2 shamed the CentOS Team into finally pushing out 6.1.

    This link provides a bunch of links for download locations. I used Georgia Tech's link. Very fast download speeds....

    http://www.centos.org/modules/tinycontent/index.php?id=30

    Later...
     
  3. taytong888

    taytong888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    138
    Hello,

    I used the 32-bit Live CD to install, but got this error message after selecting time zone. BTW, did check MD5 and SHA sums before burning the disk.

    Any idea?

    o_O
     
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    sorry taytong888

    i wish i could help but i have no idea did you check and verify before installing

    it could be bad disk, bad burned due to fast burning (best is always burn at speed of 12x 16x ....etc) or something else problem
     
  5. taytong888

    taytong888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    138
    Hello mack_guy911,

    I discovered the solution: If I don't change the default hostname and if I keep hitting Next, I will get to the page with userid & pwd boxes.

    Nothing wrong with the disk or burning.

    By the way, just saw that CentOS 6.2 is out on Distrowatch a short while ago. Which commands should I use:

    1. to upgrade from 6.1 to 6.2 (don't feel like waiting for a long download!)
    2. to install the appropriate repos.

    Thanks a lot for your help.
     
  6. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    CentOS 6.2, correct?

    http://lists.centos.org/pipermail/centos-announce/2011-December/018335.html
     
  7. taytong888

    taytong888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    138
    Hello wilbertnl,

    I now have CentOS 6.1. Just want to upgrade to 6.2. Haven't set up any repos for 6.1 yet, because I don't know which one and how. I am a centOS newbie (but not for Fedora!).
     
  8. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    You mean that the command 'yum repolist' does not return anything?
     
  9. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    http://distrowatch.com/7035


    wow thats was fast i didnt expect centos 6.2 realse so fast :D

    taytong888

    RPMForge got most of things

    if you want to go with one repo just

    mixing repos is not good in centos SL ........etc

    2 ways to avoid it

    1st either yum-protect your main repo or use yum-priority

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=311346
     
  10. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Had spare time today so decided to download the 6.2 live cd 32 bit iso.
    I wanted to see whether it would work on my old laptop which has CentOS 5.7 and runs it very well.
    Unfortunately after the cd finished loading (i.e. the circle came full way around), nothing happened. Pressed Esc. and got many lines of IO errors, not being able to find files etc.
    I removed the battery in the end.
    So I am sticking with 'old faithful' 5.7
    Maybe it's a memory thing. This laptop has only 512 MB memory shared with video. I also didn't see the text installer.
     
  11. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    i guess redhat 6 + dont support hardware which dosen't support kernel PAE that might be the cause :rolleyes:

    same i face problem on my laptop too althoe its dual core 1.6 and 2gb ram but centos 6 or scientific linux 6 both didnt work .............. i have ubuntu LTS on it :D
     
  12. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Anyone got VDPAU or VAAPI working on Centos6?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.