CD Writer!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cochise, Jan 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    When I try to copy anything on the 'fly' with Nero Start Smart....after 5% I get 'Failed'......or, it goes the whole copy, as normal, but there is nothing on the disc!!.....

    Would it be safe to assume my CD-Writer has gone Kaputt??.....

    Be brutal, I can take it.....I won't cry, honest, I can afford a new one...:D :D


    Cochise....Not copying in Copacabana...
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    quote from nero "on the fly is risky make sure the source read is double the speed of the recording"
    i only use on the fly when i go from one drive to the other.
    i have two drivers you see.
    lodore
     
  3. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks for the response lodore.....I've been using it 'As is' for ever without a prob......then suddenly!!!.....

    I like the 'fly'...I don't always want stuff on my HDD....

    Either way I'll purchase a newey on the morrow just to see.......:D


    Cochise.
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,238
    Hello,
    When I had that error in 2003, the drive indeed kapputted.
    Before you declare it KIA, try another software like CDBurnerXP Pro. If this sunshine gives you a gip as well, you might consider buying a new one.
    Mrk
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    i think its better to just get a new drive.
    i remember when my driver only accepted certain cd's and wouldnt accept some of the cd's i had ripped on to the pc in sonicstage so i got a new drive.
    dvd rewriters are only like £15.
    lodore
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Well, I have been using CDBurnerXP Pro for awhile as an alternative for Nero StartSmart and it works great.
    Thanks to Mrkvonic who recommended me this software. :cool:
     
  7. Uguel707

    Uguel707 Graphic Artist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,999
    Location:
    San Diego
    I had the same issues.:( I got error messages when copying my files with Nero.
    But I remember that I also copied other files with Nero a couple of weeks
    ago with another brand of cd's and I did not get those error windows,
    it only did that since I got a different brand of cd's from another company.
    I will try to find the same brand I had in the past and see if it does that again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.