CD/DVD-drive is not recognized as floppy

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by stagfish, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stagfish

    stagfish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hi
    When I try to create bootable media I get the message "Acronis T.I. has not found any floppy disk drives". I thought it should be possible to create a boot-CD with this option ?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It should be able to. Perhaps it's not seeing the CD drive either. I assume you don't have a floppy drive?

    Does the "Create ISO" option show up? If it does, you could do it that way and then burn the cd using Nero or another program that burns ISO files.

    What OS are you using?
    What version and build of TI?
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I don't really understand the question but in TI9 part way into the wizard for creating the rescue media you get presented with a list of devices TI has found on your computer and you select the one you want.

    Do you mean you want to create a boot floppy not a boot CD as you stated?
     
  4. stagfish

    stagfish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Yes I dont have a floppy drive. There are 2 CD/DVD-drives on my system, 1 USB.
    There is no "Create ISO" option showing up, after the message that I need to have a floppy attached I am being led back to the program-overview when choosing "next".
    It is T.I. version 8 running on XP.

    Edit :
    @ seekforever
    I want to create a boot-CD but I dont find an option to do so. When going for "creating bootable rescue media" I first get the message that "this wizard will help you create rescue disketes or CDs ...." going for next I get the message that there was no floppy disk drive found and that was it, no further possibilities ....
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Sounds like for whatever reason it isn't seeing any CD/DVD drives either. Perhaps TI8 is too old for your hardware?
     
  6. stagfish

    stagfish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I made almost 2 years ago a boot-CD for the save-mode. It was probably done with the desktop-PC I no longer have, allthough I had allready this notebook .... I cant remember ..... o_O
    The thing is I have now for the first time an image that is too big to get it on a DVD so I need the acces to my USB-harddrive for the backup ...
    Is there maybe another way to create a CD for the full-mode ?
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Are you using build 937, the last build, of TI 8. If not, upgrade to the last build.

    Is your CD drive a SATA or IDE drive? TI 8 often fails to recognize SATA devices.
     
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Rather than burn the Rescue CD direct by TI, why not use the Acronis option to save as an "iso image file" and then use your own burn software to create the new TrueImage Rescue CD.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 9, 2007
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Grover,

    Does TI 8 have the option to create an ISO?

    I don't have version 8 so I don't know what options it has.

    Did TI 8 support burning to cds/dvds even with third-party software (like the early builds of TI 9)?
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello stagfish,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    If updating doesn't solve the problem, please do the following:

    Make sure you are using a blank unformatted CD-R/RW or DVD+R/RW disc, as other types of media cannot be used to create a bootable rescue CD/DVD.

    Update any third-party CD-writing software installed on the computer to the latest version available for free on the respective web-site.

    Try creating a bootable rescue CD/DVD in Windows Safe Mode.

    If the issue persists, please submit a request to technical support. We will provide you an ISO image of Acronis Bootable Rescue Media to create a boot CD/DVD.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  11. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Mudcrab: RE your post #9

    I missed the fact that this issue involved TI8.
    I do not have V8 installed either. The V8 pdf file does not list this function.
    Perhaps Menorcaman can shed more light?
     
  12. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Grover and Mudcrab,

    I can confirm that the option to create the bootable rescue media as an ISO file was first introduced in TI 9.0 Build 3567.

    Regards

    Menorcaman
     
  13. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    We are all talking to ourselves. What happened to Stagfish?:)
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello stagfish and everyone,

    In addition to Marat's reply would like to reported by other Forum members such issue can be caused by SPTD driver version 1.43 (which installing with Daemon tools 4.0.9.1) installed in the system. Check this thread for details.

    In case you do not have Daemon tools installed, please follow Marat's advice and contact Acronis Customer Service Department.

    In addition, Menorcaman is right about the build of Acronis True Image, which introduced ability to create ISO image of Acronis True Image Bootable CD. It was build 3567.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.