CD Creator 4.03 doesn't seem to interfere

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Harrier, Jul 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Harrier

    Harrier Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Having just installed ATI 8.0, I read the User's guide and was saddened
    to discover that Easy CD Creator versions 4.x - 5.0 may interfere with
    creating disk/partition images. I tried to find an update from Adaptec,
    but can only get version 7.x for 69.95 which I do not want to fork over.

    As a test, I did not uninstall 4.03 and tried to create an image of a Linux
    swap partition on my dual boot HD with Win2K installed on the boot
    partition. Since I knew that the swap partition would be empty, I was
    assured that the image would be small and I could just create it in a
    temp folder. I was right and it worked fine with no error message. A 1Kb
    file was created.

    However, I'm not sure if this is a valid test since the image essentially
    contained no data.

    Is this a valid test or am I just fooling myself?

    I'm not sure if this is of any consequence, but I was able to create
    an emergency recovery CD with ATI8, although I haven't tested it yet.

    Any additional information on this problem welcomed.
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Harrier,

    You could try running Easy CD Creator's Drag-to-Disk feature. Use it to UDF format a DVD+R or DVD+/-RW and then create an image direct from TI to the preformatted media (Drag-to-Disk must be kept running in the background when imaging direct to preformatted DVD).

    Regards
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Harrier,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Version 4.X and version 5.0 of Easy CD Creator auto-installs a faulty DOS-based backup utility called Take Two®.
    You can use your version of Easy CD Creator if you uninstall this utility (Take Two®).
    And then as Menorcaman mentioned you can use Roxio Drag-to-Disc.

    This information is also available on our web-site in Acronis True Image FAQ Section.

    You can also create an image of your C: partition or of the whole disk as a test in order to make sure everything works.

    Thank you.
    --
    Oleg Shegay
     
  4. milleron

    milleron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Of course, it's possible that the original poster used a custom install option and declined Take Two (like I did years ago), and that's why he's having no trouble.

    Ron
     
  5. Harrier

    Harrier Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    This would be difficult since I don not have a DVD writer although now I'm
    thinking seriously of getting one. I suppose I could use the Drag-to-Disk
    feature but I'd have to do it one CD at a time. That brings up another point;
    if I use the file size selection to create separate CD size files for the image,
    do I just copy these to the CD's or do I have to write them to the CD like
    I would an ISO?

    I did create an image of just the C: partition using the file size selection
    which did create 5 .tib files. So, at least that seems to work properly. I
    assume that if I copy or ISO these to the CD's this would probably work
    w/o any interference from CD Creator. I gather that the interference
    would only arise if I were to have ATI8 create the image files and write
    them to CD.

    I uninstalled CD Creator and then reinstalled. There was no custom install
    option that I noticed. I'LL go back and recheck. Is there any way to
    remove Take Two without going through the custom install?

    Thanks for all your help!
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Harrier,

    You may write the .tib files to CDs as any other ordinary files. Since you will be using your own burning software (not Acronis True Image) there should be no problems with writing providing that software doesn't conflict with anything on your computer. You don't need to burn .tib files as .ISO or in any other special way. You may copy the .tib files you stored on hard drive to CDs and use them without any problems.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.