CCleaner

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Temp Member, Mar 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    I have the latest build of the Pro version.

    I have had an others have had (by reading Google results) slow results for analysing the files before you clean them.

    Tonight I let it analyse my files and it was about 1min in and still showing 0% going through IE files going by its scan results window.

    I clicked ESS icon and chose "Temporarily" Disable Protection" and it went instantly, I have verified when its enabled it takes ages to scan most of the time now and over the years I have used both.

    I suppose I could set an exception somewhere but is there a reason this happens?
     
  2. er34

    er34 Guest

    Obviously there is a reason for you to set the exceptions for CCleaner. That is why they are made for - so insert CCleaner's folder in the exclusions. :thumb:
     
  3. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Thanks for that info. For others W/ CC Free: the Exclusion (for me) didn't Help - Only Temp Disable ESS netted the FAST Analysis. The slow-down of the Analysis function has been in effect (for me) at least a year or so, so it's nice to know of a way to speed it up.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  4. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Just being curious here:
    Which CCleaner version (and which Windows version and which Eset Smart Security version)?
    Has this issue started with the latest version of CCleaner (4.00.4064) or did it happen also with previous versions?
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I have never had this kind of issue with any version of ESET and CCleaner. And I have nothing excluded :)
     
  6. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Your reply does not help in the slightest and I knew the exception would not work as its probably one of modules I need on that's causing it added to its backed up by the poster bellow.

    Added to the fact its not CCleaner that is being scanned so adding it to exception would not work its is probably do with the files being scanned at that time (IE files at 0% progress) and whatever ESS is doing to those files like locking them or scanning them.

    The fact is 99% of things work without any expectation as it would take a long time to manually add one for all apps.

    I have had this issue (and so have others and its usually down to their AV) over the years with all builds of ESS and CCleaner on and off and I mentioned in my op I am on latest build of CCleaner and my ESS is 6.0.308.0 till auto update offers new version.

    I await official input from staff.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  7. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    I can confirm i have the same issue with ccleaner and it's bee slow since i re installed my os at least, i have the current v4 of ccleaner installed, but it was the same with the previous version of ccleaner also, adding the ccleaner.exe to the exceptions (real time protection) makes zero difference, only if real time protection is disabled does ccleaner work as it was intended or at the speed it should be capable of running at,
     
  8. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    This software should never be listed as an excluded app !!
     
  10. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Hi!

    I've never had this kind of problem before. Maybe you might want to try uninstalling both ESS and CCleaner and then do a clean install on both of them.

    HTH.

    Thank you.
     
  11. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    It is not the answer and Googling it would show others have tried and its down to the users AV+CCleaner.

    The solution for now to get it to scan fast every time is to Temp disable ESS but I want an official ESET reply in here.

    This is on Vista+Win 7+Win 8.

    P.S Major updates to ESS are a clean install for me and normally I set up from scratch not export/import settings.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
  12. terradon

    terradon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    78
    The issue is not isolated to just Eset. I don't know what CCCleaner is doing when it alalyzes files for deletion...presumably each file is being opened thus triggering the realtime protection of ESS and other AVs. I also presume that ESS and other AVs lock the file until it deems it safe. That would noticably slow the CCCleaner analysis. I regularly clear IE's history and cache, yet I just ran CCC and have an huge number of files that could be deleted. A majority are jpg and other image files, but there are also a number of javascript and html files. Any of those are potential carriers of malware.
     
  13. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Your explanation seems logical but are you saying that the Potential Malware has made it through all ESS Defenses Undetected up to that point, and CC waking it up to look inside/analyze (with ESS Temp Disabled) IS WHEN the Damage could/Would be done?

    I love the Faster Analysis but Not at the expense of Malware triggered with ESS Disabled.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.