CCleaner v5

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,465
    Location:
    Land of the Light
    :thumb:
     
  2. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,657
    Location:
    Outer space
    Hmm, while saved HSTS 'preferences' could be abused as some sort of cookie, it's not a good idea to enable this by default imho. And since there is no separate option, so it seems if you don't want to clean that you have to disable cookie cleaning alltogether o_O
     
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,860
  4. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,412
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,860
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

    v5.11.5408
    (26 Oct 2015)

    - Added Windows Store apps to Uninstall tool (Windows 8, 8.1 and 10).
    - Improved Google Chrome Download History cleaning.
    - Improve Firefox 41 cleaning.
    - Optimized Start-up Items detection routine.
    - Improved keyboard navigation and shortcuts.
    - Added Microsoft Office 2016 and Camtasia Studio 8.0 cleaning.
    - Updated various translations.
    - Minor GUI Improvements.
    - Minor bug fixes.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    125,880
    Location:
    Texas
  7. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,446
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

    v5.12.5431 (24 Nov 2015)
    - Improved Firefox 42 Cache cleaning.
    - Improved Google Chrome Download History cleaning.
    - Improved Skip UAC on Windows 10.
    - Improved detection and cleaning of portable browsers.
    - Optimized cleaning rules loading routine.
    - Improved localization and language support.
    - Minor GUI Improvements.
    - Minor bug fixes.
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,860
    @ pegas,
    Thanks for the heads up. :thumb:
     
  9. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,446
    You're welcome :) as usual the slim build is wandering and will arrive later on.
     
  10. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Pegas..thank you
     
  11. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    6,026
    Location:
    New York City
  12. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,413
    Location:
    Triassic
    I found that whenever I restart W7, the system icon notification settings I have set, is ignored. Changing them to something else after the restart is also ignored.

    I googled for a remedy and found a batch file that deletes the notification icon cache - it works, but also requires a restart - I have to change the settings from the default settings again . When the next restart is required the whole damn process has to be repeated.

    I just noticed that ccleaner has an entry under Windows>Advanced>Tray notifications cache. I would expect this will do what the batch file does and I should only check it for a single cleaning session (that is, not leave it permanently checked).
     
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,030
    Location:
    UK
    Could this apply to you emmjay?

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/979155

    Yes, Ccleaner Tray Notifications Cache does just that and should not be left checked after using once. You don't need to restart the PC after doing it just open the taskmanager, find and kill explorer.exe then do File..New.. and type in explorer.exe and press ok.
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,929
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  15. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,413
    Location:
    Triassic
    \

    Tnx Stapp. I checked that link out and it does not apply, but thank you for providing it. I noticed that this problem started happening after a large number of windows updates were applied, but I do not know which one caused the problem. I should have backed them all out and reapplied them one at a time, but unfortunately I did not. Water under the bridge, as they say.

    I assume ccleaner added it because a lot of people were experiencing the same problem as I am having. There has never been an update from MS to unfix the fix that caused the problem - as it was W7, I am not expecting it to be addressed anytime soon.
     
  16. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,030
    Location:
    UK
    Actually the Tray Notification cache clean has been in Ccleaner for a few years now emmjay.

    Hopefully one day you will find the solution for your problem.
     
  17. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,413
    Location:
    Triassic
    Tnx - I actually have 2 solutions now !!!

    The issue only came about within the past 6 months for me, so I guess it has been around for a while if ccleaner has had it for years - the next time the icons get zapped I will give it a try. The batch file is a solution too, so I will keep it on hand.
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,860
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

    v5.13.5460 (21 Dec 2015)
    - Added Opera and Chrome Media Cache cleaning.
    - Improved Chrome Extension and Cache cleaning.
    - Improved Windows 10 Registry cleaning.
    - Optimized 64-bit build architecture.
    - Improved Auto-Update checking process.
    - Improved Unicode text support.
    - Minor GUI Improvements.
    - Minor bug fixes.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2015
  19. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    thank you anon
     
  20. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,412
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  21. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Time to pick it up.
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    Seems, they no longer have portable version.
    Trying download from the portable page, it jumps to a setup.exe file :(
     
  23. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    73,166
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    guest, have you tried it from the Dermot7's page link? http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/buildsIt downloads the zipped file for me.
     
  24. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,120
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    Well, very strange, but now it works again to download the portable.
    Tried 2 browsers for some time.
    Thanks for replying and have me try again.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.